You are here

Dalesview Partnership Domiciliary Care Good

We are carrying out a review of quality at Dalesview Partnership Domiciliary Care. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 May 2017

This inspection took place on 27 April 2017. We gave the service short notice of the inspection. This was because we needed to be sure the registered manager would be available during the inspection.

Dalesview Partnership domiciliary care is registered to provide personal care to people for people with a learning disabilities or autistic spectrum disorder and younger adults in their own homes in Lancashire. The office is based in Clayton le Woods where staff have access to the management of the service along with training facilities. At the time of our inspection the service supported four people in one address.

The service had registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection on 22 July 2014 the service was rated as good overall and was meeting the regulatory requirements relevant at that time. During this inspection we found the service was meeting the requirements of the current legislation.

Effective systems were in place for recruitment, selection and training for staff. We saw appropriate numbers of staff in place to meet people’s individual needs.

Staff we spoke with understood their responsibilities when dealing with allegations of abuse. Relatives we spoke with told us they had no concerns about the safety of their family members.

Medicines and risks were managed safely in the service. Where identified risks were noted we saw evidence of actions taken to mitigate any risk.

Care files were detailed, clear and provided information for staff to follow to ensure people’s individual needs were met.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

There was a comprehensive and robust activities programme in place to ensure people lived enriched and fulfilled lives. We observed people who used the service were treated with dignity and respect at all times by staff during our visit to their home.

There was evidence of meal plans and choices in place to meet people’s individual choices of meals. Where special diets were required we saw staff accommodated these in the menu planning and shopping for food. Where people required the involvement of health professionals we saw referrals and assessments had taken place.

We received positive feedback about the leadership and management of the service from staff and relatives of people in receipt of care. There was evidence of regular audits and monitoring taking place and records confirmed feedback from relatives, visiting professionals and staff was obtained.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 May 2017

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 May 2017

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 May 2017

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 May 2017

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 May 2017

The service remains well-led.