You are here

Modality Medical Spa - Birmingham Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of Modality Medical Spa - Birmingham in June 2019, the overall rating was good. While no breaches of legal requirements were found, the service was rated as requires improvement for providing safe services. This was because we identified some areas where the provider should make improvements.

We carried out a focussed desk-based inspection of Modality Medical Spa - Birmingham on 9 October 2019 to check that the provider had made improvements in line with our recommendations. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Modality Medical Spa - Birmingham on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Our key findings across all the areas we inspected were as follows:

  • Since our comprehensive inspection in June 2019, the provider had reviewed and improved their processes for the management of fire risk.
  • The provider had reviewed their internal health and safety risk assessment to ensure it was specific to this service and that it adequately assessed and managed fire risks.
  • The provider had purchased suitable equipment to safely evacuate people with mobility difficulties in the event of a fire and provided staff with training on its use.
  • Staff had completed appropriate fire training.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

We previously rated Modality Medical Spa - Birmingham as Requires improvement for providing Safe services because fire risks were not effectively assessed and managed. During our inspection in June 2019 staff we spoke with were unable to tell us how they would support people with mobility difficulties out of the building in the event of a fire. The service did not have access to a recent fire risk assessment and the service’s health and safety risk assessment had not adequately assessed or mitigated the risks related to fire. Following this desk-based inspection, the service is now rated as Good for providing Safe services.

Safety systems and processes

  • During this desk-based inspection in October 2019, we reviewed information the provider sent us that demonstrated they had reviewed and improved their processes since the previous inspection in June 2019 for assessing and managing fire risks.
  • The provider sent us evidence to show an external fire risk assessment had been carried out at the building in July 2019 and the provider had carried out any actions that had been identified for the Spa.
  • The provider had reviewed their internal health and safety risk assessment to ensure it was specific to this service and it adequately assessed and mitigated risks related to fire.
  • The provider had purchased suitable equipment to safely evacuate people with mobility difficulties in the event of a fire and staff were trained in its use.
  • The provider sent us evidence to show staff had received up to date fire training which included fire evacuation procedures.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 November 2019