You are here

OneWelbeck Digestive Health Good

We are carrying out a review of quality at OneWelbeck Digestive Health. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 May 2020

One Welbeck Digestive Health is operated by ASI London A Limited. The service has no overnight beds. Facilities include three endoscopy rooms and eight single bedded patient rooms. The service did not treat anyone under the age of 18.

The service provides oesophago-gastro-duodenoscopies and colonoscopies. These are examinations to detect changes in the stomach and the intestines.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out an unannounced visit to the clinic on 11 March 2020.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led?. Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Services we rate

The service had not been rated before. We rated it as Good overall.

We found good practice:

  • The service controlled infection risk well. Staff kept themselves, equipment and the premises clean. They used control measures to prevent the spread of infection. Premises and equipment were suitable and were well looked after.
  • The service had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care and treatment.
  • Staff cared for patients with compassion, dignity and respect and involved them in decisions about their care and treatment.
  • The provider planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of the patient group and people could access the service when they needed it.
  • Leaders had the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable care and promoted a positive culture that supported and valued patients and staff.
  • There was a systematic approach to continually improve the quality of the service and safeguarding high standards of care. And there were effective systems in place for managing risks.

Nigel Acheson

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 May 2020

We rated it as Good because:

  • The service made sure that staff completed mandatory training in key skills.
  • Staff understood how to protect patients from abuse. Staff had training on how to recognise and report abuse and they knew how to apply it.
  • The service controlled infection risk well. Staff kept themselves, equipment and the premises clean. They used control measures to prevent the spread of infection.
  • The service had suitable premises and equipment and looked after them well.
  • Staff completed and updated risk assessments for each patient. They kept clear patient records and asked for support when necessary.
  • The service had enough nursing staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care and treatment.
  • The service had enough medical staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care and treatment.
  • The service kept detailed records of patients’ care and treatment.
  • The service followed best practice when prescribing, giving, recording and storing medicines.
  • The service had systems and processes to manage patient safety incidents well.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 May 2020

We rated it as Good because:

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance and evidence of its effectiveness.
  • Staff gave patients enough food and drink after their appointments to meet their needs and improve their health.
  • Managers monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment and used the findings to improve them.
  • The service made sure staff were competent for their roles.
  • Staff of different kinds worked together as a team to benefit patients.
  • Staff understood their roles and responsibilities under the Mental Health Act 1983 and the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 May 2020

We rated it as Good because:

  • Staff cared for patients with compassion, dignity and respect.
  • Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their distress.
  • The service involved patients in decisions about their care and treatment.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 May 2020

We rated it as Good because:

  • The provider planned and provided services in a way that met the general needs of the patient group.
  • The service took account of patients’ individual needs.
  • People could access the service when they needed it.
  • The provider had systems in place to handle concerns and complaints seriously.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 May 2020

We rated it as Good because:

  • Leaders had the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable care.
  • The service had a vision for what it wanted to achieve and workable plans to turn it into action.
  • The provider promoted a positive culture that supported and valued patients and staff.
  • There was a systematic approach to continually improve the quality of the service and safeguarding high standards of care.
  • There were effective systems in place for identifying risks, planning to eliminate or reduce them.
  • The service managed and used information well to support its activities.
  • The service engaged with patients and staff.
  • The provider was committed to improving services.
Checks on specific services

Medical care (including older people’s care)

Good

Updated 8 May 2020

We rated this service as good because it was safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led.