• Doctor
  • GP practice

Dr Muhammad Shahzad Also known as Savita Medical Centre

Overall: Good

48 Harrow View, Harrow, Middlesex, HA1 1RQ (020) 8427 7172

Provided and run by:
Dr Muhammad Shahzad

The provider of this service changed. See old profile

Latest inspection summary

On this page

Background to this inspection

Updated 23 April 2021

Dr Muhammad Shahzad also known as Savita Medical Centre is located in Harrow at:

48 Harrow View

Harrow

Middlesex

HA1 1RQ

The practice has a branch surgery at:

86 Spencer Road

Wealdstone

Middlesex

HA3 7AR

The provider is registered with CQC to deliver the Regulated Activities; diagnostic and screening procedures, maternity and midwifery services and treatment of disease, disorder or injury and surgical procedures.

The practice offers services from both a main practice and a branch surgery. However, since the pandemic the branch surgery has been inactive.

The practice is situated within the Harrow Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) and delivers Personal Medical Services (PMS) to a patient population of about 3,799. This is part of a contract held with NHS England.

The practice is part of a wider network of GP practices called the Harrow Collaborative which comprises 11 GP practices.

Information published by Public Health England report deprivation within the practice population group as seven on a scale of 1 to 10. Level one represents the highest levels of deprivation and level 10 the lowest.

The age range of patients is predominantly 15 to 44 years. The practice has a lower percentage of patients over 65 years when compared to the national average. The National General Practice Profile states that 40% of the practice population is from an Asian background with a further 20% of the population originating from black, mixed or other non-white ethnic groups. Male life expectancy is 81 years (national average of 79 years). Female life expectancy is 85 years (national average of 83 years).

There is a team of four GPs, two nurses, an advanced nurse practitioner and a healthcare assistant. Clinical staff are supported at the practice by a team of reception/administration staff. The practice manager is based at the main location to provide managerial oversight.

Due to the enhanced infection prevention and control measures put in place since the pandemic and in line with the national guidance, most GP appointments were telephone consultations. If the GP needs to see a patient face-to-face then the patient is offered an appointment at the main practice.

Overall inspection

Good

Updated 23 April 2021

We carried out a review of Dr Muhammad Shahzad also known as Savita Medical Centre on 15/04/2021. Overall, the practice is rated as Good.

Set out the ratings for each key question

Safe - Good

Following our previous inspection on 10 & 22 October 2019, the practice was rated Good overall and for the key questions effective, caring, responsive and well-led. The practice was rated requires improvement for providing safe services and issued a requirement notice for Regulation 12 Safe care and treatment.

The full reports for previous inspections can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr Muhammad Shahzad on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Why we carried out this review

This review was a focused review of information without undertaking a site visit to follow up on breaches of Regulation12 Safe care and treatment. At the last inspection we found;

  • Safeguarding policies did not take account of patients accessing any online services.
  • Staff were not up to date with their routine immunisations.
  • Actions were not always taken to address the health and safety risk assessments recommended areas for improvement.
  • The practice had not completed documented premises and security risk assessments.
  • Not all staff had undertaken fire safety update training.

We also followed up on ‘should’ actions identified at the last inspection. Specifically;

  • Monitor and improve on patient satisfaction scores relating to treatment with care and concern.
  • Update whistleblowing policy to ensure it is in line with the NHS Improvement Raising Concerns (Whistleblowing) Policy.
  • Monitor and continue to improve cervical screening uptake rates.

How we carried out the review

Throughout the pandemic CQC has continued to regulate and respond to risk. However, taking into account the circumstances arising as a result of the pandemic, and in order to reduce risk, we have conducted our reviews differently.

This review was carried out without visiting the location by requesting documentary evidence from the provider.

We found that:

The practice had made the necessary improvements to the delivery of care to ensure patients were kept safe and protected from avoidable harm;

  • Safeguarding policies had been updated to take account of patients accessing online services.
  • Staff were up to date with their routine immunisations.
  • Recommendations from health and safety risk assessments had been acted upon.
  • Premises and security risk assessments had been undertaken.
  • Fire safety update training had been undertaken by all staff.

In addition;

  • Patient satisfaction scores in relation to treatment with care and concern had improved. National GP survey performance for this indicator had increased from 75% (Jan 2019 – March 2019) to 87% (Jan 2020 – March 2020).
  • The practice had updated the whistleblowing policy in line with NHS Improvement Raising Concerns (Whistleblowing) Policy.
  • Since the last inspection the practice’s cervical screening uptake had decreased from 58% to 52% (Public Health England data). However, we have taken into account that cervical screening has been adversely affected during the current pandemic. We were also provided with evidence that the practice had made efforts to improve the call / recall system for eligible patients.

Whilst we found no breaches of regulations, the provider should:

  • Improve cervical screening uptake to bring in line with the England average.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care