You are here

Erdington GP Health and Wellbeing WIC Good Also known as Badger Midlands Medical Limited (BMM)

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 3 November 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Erdington GP Health and Wellbeing Walk in Centre on 19 January 2017. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. Breaches were identified in relation to regulation 17 (Good governance) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. The full comprehensive report on the January 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Erdington GP Health and Wellbeing Walk in Centre on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 4 October 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection on 19 January 2017.

Overall the practice is now rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had made significant progress in relation to the concerns raised at our previous inspection in January 2017.
  • The practice had reviewed its systems to manage risks and keep patients safe. For example, improvements had been made to the monitoring of the premises, staff recruitment and prescription safety.
  • Systems had been put in place to monitor the quality of services, including GP consultations and a rolling programme of clinical audit had been introduced.
  • Systems had been put in place to monitor staff compliance with the provider’s core training requirement.
  • Policies and procedures previously containing out of date information had been reviewed and updated.
  • Governance arrangements had been strengthened with clearer leadership and input from senior medical staff.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 3 November 2017

The provider is rated as good for providing safe services.

  • The provider had addressed all the concerns identified at our previous inspection in January 2017 relating to the provision of safe services.
  • Systems were in place for the safe monitoring of prescription stationery.
  • Recruitment checks were completed prior to staff commencing employment and there were systems in place to monitor this.
  • Systems were in place to ensure risks identified relating to the premises were monitored and acted on.

Effective

Good

Updated 3 November 2017

The provider is rated as good for providing effective services.

  • The provider had addressed all the concerns identified at our previous inspection in January 2017 relating to the provision of effective services.
  • The provider had introduced a system of audits to monitor the quality of GP consultations and identify any learning needs.
  • The provider had also introduced a rolling programme of clinical audits to support quality improvement within the service. These had only recently been implemented and full audit cycles had yet to be completed in order to demonstrate improvement.
  • Systems had been introduced to monitor staff training against the provider’s core training requirements.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 April 2017

The service is rated as good for providing caring services.

  • Feedback from patients through CQC comment cards and collected by the provider was very positive.
  • Patients said they were treated with dignity and respect by friendly and caring staff.
  • Patients were happy with the service they received and their involvement in decisions about their care and treatment.
  • Information for patients about the services available was easy to understand and accessible.
  • We saw staff treated patients with kindness and respect, and maintained patient confidentiality.
  • Patients were kept informed with regard to their care and treatment throughout their visit to the out-of-hours service. Notices displayed gave patient information about expected waiting times and that some patients may need to be prioritised and seen before them.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 April 2017

The service is rated as good for providing responsive services.

  • The provider reviewed the needs of its local population and engaged with its commissioners about the service provided. Patient feedback demonstrated patients were happy with the service.
  • The service had good facilities and was well equipped to treat patients and meet their needs.
  • The provider had systems in place to ensure patients received care and treatment in a timely way and according to the urgency of need.
  • Information about how to complain was available and easy to understand and evidence showed the service responded quickly to issues raised. Learning from complaints was shared with staff and other stakeholders.

Well-led

Good

Updated 3 November 2017

The provider is rated as good for being well-led.

  • The provider had addressed all the concerns identified at our previous inspection in January 2017 relating to the provision of services that are well-led.
  • Policies and procedures seen that were previously out of date had been reviewed and updated including the business continuity plan, prescription management and locum induction packs.
  • Governance arrangements had been strengthened in relation to the management of risks.
  • There was clearer senior medical input into the performance management of medical staff.