You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

This is a focused follow-up inspection of Dr AK and N Atrey for areas within the key questions safe. We now found the practice to be good in providing safe services.

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Dr AK and N Atrey on 1 March 2016. The overall rating for the practice was good. The full comprehensive report on the 1 March 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr AK and N Atrey on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

At our previous inspection on 1 March 2016, we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing safe services as the arrangements in place for managing the following issues were not adequate:

  • Suitable processes were not in place to identify children at risk and vulnerable adults.

  • A paediatric oxygen mask was not available.

In addition we identified the following issues the service should improve:

  • The systems for recording significant events should be reviewed.

  • The arrangements for monitoring the supply of prescription pads should be reviewed.

  • GPs should ensure that there is a clear and to deliver high-quality care and promote good outcomes for patients, which is shared with staff and patients.

In line with agreed timescales the practice supplied documentary evidence to demonstrate how they had improved their practices in relation to the overview of safety systems and processes since the last inspection.

At this inspection we found that sufficient improvement had been achieved to update the rating for provision of safe services to good. The practice had addressed the breaches of regulation and was now compliant with all regulations. This report covers our findings in relation to those improvements.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • There were suitable processes to identify children and adults at risk and vulnerable children, adults and families.

  • A paediatric oxygen mask was available.

  • The systems for recording significant and monitoring the supply of prescription pads had been reviewed.

  • The provider had produced a mission statement which outlined the practice’s and to deliver high-quality care and promote good outcomes for patients.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

At our previous inspection on 1 March 2016, we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing safe services as the arrangements in place for managing the following issues were not adequate:

  • Suitable processes were not in place to identify children at risk and vulnerable adults.

  • A paediatric oxygen mask was not available.

In addition we identified the following issues the service should improve:

  • The systems for recording significant events should be reviewed.

  • The arrangements for monitoring the supply of prescription pads should be reviewed.

At this inspection we spoke with the practice manager and reviewed documentary evidence to demonstrate how the practice had improved their systems in relation to the overview of safe services since the last inspection. The practice is now rated as good for providing safe services.

  • There were suitable processes to identify children and adults at risk and vulnerable children, adults and families.

  • A paediatric oxygen mask was available.

  • The systems for recording significant and monitoring the supply of prescription pads had been reviewed.

Effective

Good

Updated 3 May 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

  • Data from the Quality and Outcomes Framework showed patient outcomes were at or above average for the locality and compared to the national average.

  • Staff assessed needs and delivered care in line with current evidence based guidance.

  • Clinical audits demonstrated quality improvement.

  • Staff had the skills, knowledge and experience to deliver effective care and treatment.

  • There was evidence of appraisals and personal development plans for all staff.

Caring

Good

Updated 3 May 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

  • Data from the National GP Patient Survey showed patients rated the practice higher than others for several aspects of care.

  • Patients said they were treated with compassion, dignity and respect and they were involved in decisions about their care and treatment.

  • Information for patients about the services available was easy to understand and accessible.

  • We saw staff treated patients with kindness and respect, and maintained patient and information confidentiality.

Responsive

Good

Updated 3 May 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

  • Practice staff reviewed the needs of its local population and engaged with the NHS England Area Team and Clinical Commissioning Group to secure improvements to services where these were identified.

  • Patients said they found it easy to make an appointment with a named GP and there was continuity of care, with urgent appointments available the same day.

  • The practice had good facilities and was well equipped to treat patients and meet their needs.

  • Information about how to complain was available and easy to understand and evidence showed the practice responded quickly to issues raised. Learning from complaints was shared with staff and other stakeholders.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

At our previous inspection on 1 March 2016, we rated the practice as good for providing well led services although we identified the following issue that should be improved:

  • GPs should ensure that there is a clear and to deliver high-quality care and promote good outcomes for patients, which is shared with staff and patients.

At this inspection we found this issue had been addressed. A mission statement had been drawn up and discussed with the staff team and there was evidence that the staff had been briefed on any proposed changes to the staff team.

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe identified at our inspection on 1 March 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

The specific findings on these groups can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr AK and N Atrey on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe identified at our inspection on 1 March 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

The specific findings on these groups can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr AK and N Atrey on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Older people

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe identified at our inspection on 1 March 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

The specific findings on these groups can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr AK and N Atrey on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe identified at our inspection on 1 March 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

The specific findings on these groups can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr AK and N Atrey on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe identified at our inspection on 1 March 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

The specific findings on these groups can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr AK and N Atrey on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 6 November 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe identified at our inspection on 1 March 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group rating has been updated to reflect this.

The specific findings on these groups can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr AK and N Atrey on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.