You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Bennfield Surgery on 17 January 2019 as part of our inspection programme. The practice had previously been inspected on 22 July 2015 and had been rated as good in all areas.

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • what we found when we inspected
  • information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations.

We have rated this practice as good overall and good for all population groups.

We found that:

  • The practice provided care in a way that kept patients safe and protected them from avoidable harm. They had established systems which all staff were aware of to ensure the safety of patients and staff was maintained.
  • Patients received effective care and treatment that met their needs which was evident both in practice’s clinical achievement as well as from patients’ satisfaction with the care they received.
  • There were systems to support effective governance and staff had allocated roles and responsibilities which they were all aware of and had been appropriately trained to carry out.
  • Staff dealt with patients with kindness and respect and involved them in decisions about their care. This was reported by patients on the day of inspection.
  • The practice organised and delivered services to meet patients’ needs. Patients could access care and treatment in a timely way.
  • The management team worked closely together and maintained effective communication to promote the delivery of high-quality, person-centre care.
  • Staff reported feeling well supported in their work and were encouraged to develop within the practice.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • To continue to explore and monitor ways of improving patient satisfaction when making an appointment.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP
Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Effective

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Older people

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 18 February 2019