You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 January 2021

We carried out an announced focussed inspection at Seaforth Farm Surgery on 29 October 2020 with further remote access inspection activity on 4 November 2020, 25 November 2020 and 26 November 2020. This was in response to concerns raised about the safety of medicine management at this practice.

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • what we found when we inspected
  • information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • At this inspection we identified some concerns around clinical governance.
  • Systems were not in place to provide formal clinical support to staff.
  • Clinical records did not always demonstrate that patients were fully assessed.

The areas where the provider must make improvements are:

  • Ensure care and treatment is provided in a safe way to patients.
  • Ensure staff receive appropriate support, training, professional development, supervision and appraisal as is necessary to enable them to carry out the duties they are employed to perform

(Please see the specific details on action required at the end of this report).

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Keep the workforce and staff skill mix under review to meet the access and care and treatment needs of the practice population.
  • Keep the significant event analysis process under review to demonstrate all potential learning has been captured and shared.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe, effective and responsive identified at our inspection on 2 November 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe, effective and responsive identified at our inspection on 2 November 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe, effective and responsive identified at our inspection on 2 November 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe, effective and responsive identified at our inspection on 2 November 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe, effective and responsive identified at our inspection on 2 November 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe, effective and responsive identified at our inspection on 2 November 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.