You are here

Kingsway Medical Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

This is a focused desk top review of evidence supplied by Kingsway Medical Practice, for two areas within the key question well-led.

We found the practice to be good in providing well-led services. Overall, the practice is rated as good.

The practice was inspected on 15 July 2015. The inspection was a comprehensive inspection under the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 (HSCA). At that inspection, the practice was rated ‘good’ overall. However, within the key question well-led two areas were identified as requires improvement, as the practice was not meeting the legislation at that time; Regulation 18 Staffing and Regulation 17 Good governance.

At the inspection in July 2015 we found that capacity and staffing levels had not been reviewed or adapted to respond to the changing needs and circumstances of people using the service or the changes within the structure of the partnership. Checks had not been put in place to ensure staff were not working excessive hours to meet demands. We also found the provider was not operating effective governance systems and processes to make sure they assess and monitor their service for quality, safety and to maintain staff well-being at a partnership level following changes in the capacity and structure of the GP partnership.

The practice supplied an action plan and a range of documents which demonstrated they are now meeting the requirements of Regulation 17 Staffing and Regulation 17 Good governance of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Effective

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Caring

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing well-led services.

In line with agreed timescales the practice supplied a range of documentary evidence to demonstrate how they had improved their practices in relation to staffing and good governance since the inspection carried out in July 2015.

Evidence supplied included copies of risk assessments, health and safety management plan and management team actions log.

In addition the practice submitted a report on the actions they had taken since the last inspection.

This included details of two new roles that had been developed to support the management team and staff. The practice had also employed a pharmacist to work four sessions a week.

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long term conditions.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Older people

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 25 November 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps