You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

This was a focused inspection of Orchard Medical Centre in one area within the key question safe. The evidence was reviewed at Orchard Medical Centre.

At this inspection we found the practice had made all required improvements. Overall, the practice is rated as good.

The practice was previously inspected on 14 September 2016. The inspection was a comprehensive inspection under the Health and Social Care Act 2008. At that inspection, the practice was rated good overall but required improvement for providing safe services.

Our key findings at this most recent inspection were as follows:

  • At the inspection on 3 April 2017 we reviewed a range of documents and found that all of the required improvements had been made.
  • Recruitment folders were in place for staff and all staff acting as chaperones had an up to date Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check in place.
  • Recruitment checks were carried out for all employees as outlined in schedule three of the Health and Social Care act.
  • An appraisal system was now in place to ensure all staff received an annual performance review.
  • The practice now had a legionella risk assessment in place.


Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is now rated as good for providing safe services.

On inspection we reviewed documentary evidence to demonstrate how they had made all improvements to their practices in relation to their recruitment process. All staff members now had a recruitment file in place and all staff acting as a chaperone had a current disclosure and barring service (DBS) check.

A legionella risk assessment was now in place.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services but there were areas identified at the last inspection that the provider should make improvements on.

On inspection we reviewed documentary evidence that demonstrated how the practice had made improvements in relation to their appraisal system. We saw evidence that all employees had a date for their next appraisal that was within 12 months of their last appraisal.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website. http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Well-led

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing well-led services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long-term conditions.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Older people

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working-age people (including those recently retired and students).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 16 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection 14 September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps