You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Integra Supported Housing. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 August 2016

The inspection took place on 1 July 2016 and was announced. We gave the service 48 hours’ notice of the inspection because it is small and the manager is often out of the office supporting staff or providing care. We needed to be sure that they would be in. At our last inspection on the 30 September 2013 the provider was compliant with the regulations inspected.

Integra Supported Housing is registered to provide personal care services to people in their own homes or supported living. People the service supports have a range of needs including physical disability and learning disability. On the day of the inspection, 48 people were receiving support. There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act (2008) and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they were safe. Care staff knew how to keep people safe and had received the appropriate training to do so. Where people were supported with their medicines we found that this was being done safely.

The provider ensured care staff had the skills and knowledge to meet the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (2005) and people’s consent was sought before they were supported. Care staff received the appropriate support to be able to meet people’s needs.

The care staff that supported people provided support in a friendly and caring manner. People were involved in the assessment and care planning process and their views and decisions were taken into account when their support needs were reviewed.

The support people received was what they expected and their dignity, privacy and independence was respected.

The provider had a complaints process in place so people were able to share concerns they had. The provider ensured the quality of the service was checked and monitored regularly to ensure the quality of the service was maintained.

The provider used questionnaires, meetings and a suggestion box so people were able to comment on the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 August 2016

The service was safe.

People felt safe.

There were enough staff to support people and meet their needs.

The provider ensured people’s medicines were administered as they needed.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 August 2016

The service was effective.

People were able to give consent before care staff supported them.

The provider ensured the Mental Capacity Act 2005 requirements were being adhered to and care staff had the appropriate guidance.

People were able to see health care professionals when needed.

Caring

Good

Updated 23 August 2016

The service was caring.

Care staff were friendly and kind.

People were able to decide how they were supported by care staff.

People’s privacy, dignity and independence was respected.

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 August 2016

The service was responsive.

People were able to take part in the assessment and care planning process and share their views as part of how their support needs were reviewed.

People were able to share their views and make comments on the service as part of the provider’s complaints process.

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 August 2016

The service was well led.

People felt the service was well led.

The provider had systems in place so people could share their views and be provided with information about events happening in their community.

Checks and audits were carried out by the provider to monitor the quality of the service.