You are here

Rose Valley Medical Centre Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

At the inspection on 8 May 2019 we found there was no system or process to ensure that children attending the service were accompanied by an adult with parental responsibility. We reviewed this as part of this focussed inspection in September 2020 and found this issue had been addressed.

We also told the provider they should review and improve systems and processes for quality improvement including audits and improve governance processes, specifically related to reviewing the service’s written policies and procedures. These issues did not amount to breaches of the regulations. We checked these areas as part of this focussed inspection and found improvements had been made.

The provider provided examples of audits they had carried out and corresponding changes made to the service. For example, the provider added vitamin D tests to the standard battery of tests ordered for patients, as a result of findings of an audit they had carried out. They also described regular case reviews carried out for challenging or unique cases to identify learning and improvement points.

The provider described the governance processes put in place following the inspection in May 2019. This ensured their policies were reviewed and/or updated in an organised, recorded way and at regular intervals.

Rose Valley Medical Centre is a private doctors consultation service for adults and children delivered by a sole practitioner on a private, fee paying basis only.

We interviewed the provider remotely but did not request feedback from patients as part of this desk-based follow up inspection.

Our key findings were:

  • The service had systems to assess, monitor and manage risks to patient safety.
  • The service had a governance framework in place which supported the delivery of quality care.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP


Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

Safety systems and processes

The service

had

clear systems to keep people safe and safeguarded from abuse.

  • The service had systems in place to assure that an adult accompanying a child had parental authority.
  • At the inspection in May 2019 we found the provider did not have a documented process in place to demonstrate that children attending the service were accompanied by an adult with parental responsibility. For this inspection in September 2020 we asked the provider to submit documentary evidence demonstrating the processes put in place to ensure children were safeguarded, specifically that those responsible for their safety were aware they were seeking medical treatment.
  • The provider submitted their updated child safeguarding and child protection policy which stated the parents had to provide the child’s full birth certificate, showing the parents names and photographic identity documents for themselves, such as a passport or driver’s licence. The provider told us parents were asked to bring these to appointments or if it was a video appointment, to hold the documents up to the camera for examination. Without these documents being made available, children would not be seen.

Effective

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

Caring

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

Well-led

Good

Updated 15 September 2020