You are here

The Treatment Rooms, London Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 January 2020

The Treatment Rooms is operated by RDA Medical Limited. The service has no inpatient beds. Facilities include one procedure room and one consultation room.

The service provides hair transplant surgery.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out a short-announced inspection on 5 November 2019.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Services we rate

We have not rated this service before. We rated it as Good overall.

We found good practice:

  • The service made sure that staff completed mandatory training.

  • The service monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment and used the findings to improve them.

  • The service was patient centred and organised to consider patients’ individual needs.

  • The service had suitable premises and equipment and looked after them well.

  • There were governance systems to monitor and improve high quality of care.

Dr Nigel Acheson

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals (London)

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 January 2020

Are services safe?

We have not rated this service before. We rated it as Good because:

We found the following areas of good practice:

The service made sure that staff completed mandatory training in key skills.

Staff understood how to protect patients from abuse.

The service controlled infection risk well.

The service had suitable premises and equipment and looked after them well.

Staff completed and updated risk assessments for each patient.

The service had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care and treatment.

The service followed best practice when prescribing, giving, recording and storing medicines.

The service managed patient safety incidents well.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 January 2020

We have not rated this service before. We rated it as Good because:

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance and evidence of its effectiveness.

  • Staff assessed and monitored patients regularly to see if they were in pain.

  • Managers monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment and used the findings to improve them.

  • The service made sure staff were competent for their roles.

  • Staff of different kinds worked together as a team to benefit patients.

  • Staff understood their roles and responsibilities under the Mental Health Act 1983 and the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 January 2020

We have not rated this service before. We rated it as Good because:

  • Staff cared for patients with compassion, dignity and respect.

  • Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their distress.

  • The service involved patients in decisions about their care and treatment.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 January 2020

We have not rated this service before. We rated it as Good because:

  • The provider planned and provided services in a way that met the general needs of the patient group.

  • The service took account of patients’ individual needs.

  • People could access the service when they needed it.

  • The provider treated concerns and complaints seriously.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 January 2020

We have not rated this service before. We rated it as Good because:

  • The surgeons had the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable care.

  • The service had a vision for what it wanted to achieve and workable plans to turn it into action.

  • The provider promoted a positive culture that supported and valued patients and staff.

  • There was a systematic approach to continually improve the quality of the service and safeguarding high standards of care. There were effective systems for identifying risks, planning to eliminate or reduce them.

  • The service managed and used information well to support its activities.

  • The service engaged with patients and staff and collaborated with partner organisations effectively.

  • The provider was committed to improving services.

Checks on specific services

Surgery

Good

Updated 10 January 2020

Surgery was the main activity.

We rated this service as good because it was safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led.