You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 August 2017

This was an announced inspection which took place on 15,16 and 19 June 2017. Two days before our inspection we contacted the service and told them of our plans to carry out a comprehensive inspection. This was because the location provides a domiciliary care service and we needed to be sure that the registered manager would be at the office.

True Homecare Limited is a domiciliary care service that provides personal care to people who live in their own homes. At the time of the inspection there were 93 people using the regulated services of personal care. The inspection was undertaken by one adult social care inspector.

The service was last inspected in June 2016. During that inspection we found breaches of one of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) regulations 2014. This resulted in us making two requirement actions. This was because medicines were not being managed safely and risks were not being assessed or mitigated properly. We also made three recommendations; that the service developed recording systems in relation to monitoring service quality and safety, that a structured approach to the provision of supervision and appraisal to staff be developed and that it improved its approach to care planning and assessment.

Following the inspection the provider wrote to us to tell us what action they intended to take to ensure they met all the relevant regulations. During this inspection we checked if the required improvements had been made. We found that improvements had been made, the requirement actions had been met and the service had acted on our recommendations.

The service has a registered manager who was present during our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

All the people we spoke with were positive about the registered manager and the way they ran the service. Staff spoke very respectfully and fondly about the registered manager. We spent time with the registered manager throughout our inspection and found them to be committed to providing a good quality person centred service. Staff we spoke with shared this commitment.

There was a safe system in place for managing people’s medicines.

Individual and environmental risk assessments were person centred and gave staff guidance on how to minimise and manage identified risks. Care records, including initial assessments, were detailed and person centred. They contained information based on people’s needs and wishes and were sufficiently detailed to guide staff in how to provide the support people required. One staff member said, “The care plans tell us everything people want us to do and how they want things to be done.”

Care records, including care plans and risk assessments, had been reviewed regularly to ensure they reflected people’s changing needs and wishes. We saw that people who used the service had been involved in the reviews.

People who used the service told us they felt safe. Staff had received training in safeguarding adults. Staff were able to tell us how to identify and respond to allegations of abuse. They were also aware of the responsibility to ‘whistle blow’ on colleagues who they thought might be delivering poor care to people.

There was a safe system of recruitment in place which helped protect people who used the service from unsuitable staff. Staff received the induction, training, support and supervision they required to ensure they had the skills and knowledge needed to carry out their roles effectively. Staff told us they felt supported.

Visits were planned well. People told us the service was reliable and staff had enough time to provide them with the support they required. One person said, “They come a

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 August 2017

The service was safe.

People told us they felt safe when staff were providing them with care and support. Staff knew the correct action to take if they witnessed or suspected abuse.

The recruitment of staff was safe and there were sufficient staff to provide people with the care and support they needed.

Improvements had been made to medicines management. Care records showed that risks to people’s health and well-being had been identified and plans were in place to help reduce or eliminate the risk.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 August 2017

The service was effective.

People told us the service was reliable and staff had enough time to provide people with the support they required.

Staff received the induction, training, supervision and support they needed to help ensure they provided effective care and support.

People’s rights and choices were respected. The provider was meeting the

requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). Staff gained people’s consent before care or support was provided.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 August 2017

The service was caring.

People who used the service told us the staff were helpful, caring and friendly.

We observed staff interactions with people who used the service were relaxed and friendly. Staff we spoke with took pride in the person centred and caring nature of the service they provided.

Staff and managers had detailed knowledge of people and were able to tell us what was important to the people. They knew their likes, dislikes, and the support they required.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 August 2017

The service was responsive.

Care records were person centred and contained information about people’s needs and wishes. They provided staff with the information they needed to support people appropriately.

The care provided was reviewed regularly. People told us they were always involved on reviewing their care.

There was a suitable complaints procedure for people to voice their concerns. People were confident any concerns they had would be dealt with quickly.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 August 2017

The service was well-led.

People who used the service said the service was well managed and well organised. Staff said they enjoyed the working for the service and felt very supported in their roles.

The registered manager and staff were enthusiastic and committed to providing a good quality person centred service.

We found there was a good system in place for assessing, monitoring and

reviewing the service. Arrangements were in place to seek feedback from people who used the service.