You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 November 2017

The inspection took place on 17 October 2017 and was announced. We gave the service short notice of our inspection. This was due to the nature of the service and to ensure the registered manager was available to assist us during our inspection.

Care Staff North West is registered to provide personal care to people living with a dementia, learning disabilities or autistic spectrum disorder, mental health, older people, people with an eating disorder, physical disability, sensory impairment and younger adults in their own homes. At the time of our inspection one person was in receipt of care from the service.

At the last comprehensive inspection on 1, 5 and 23 October 2015 the service was rated as good overall and was meeting the requirements of the regulation at that time. During this inspection the service remained good and was meeting current regulation requirements.

The service had a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

A relative told us they felt their family member was safe and well cared for by the service. Staff we spoke with understood the appropriate procedures to take when dealing with any allegations of abuse. Risk assessments had been completed that were relevant to the care people received.

Systems demonstrated that safe recruitment was taking place and staff we spoke with told us they had completed an induction on commencement of their role. Staff had completed detailed training that supported the delivery of effective care to people.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Records confirmed and staff told us consent was always sought before undertaking any care or activity. People were involved in decisions regarding the care they received from the service.

The care people received met their needs and wishes and it was clear staff understood the person’s needs, respected their wishes as well as knew how best to support them. Care records were detailed, person centred and provided staff with up to date relevant information about people. Activities were person centred and tailored around the person’s likes, hobbies and interests.

Policies and guidance was in place about how to deal with complaints. Evidence was seen that demonstrated the appropriate procedures taken by the service to deal with any complaints. We saw positive feedback in evaluation and surveys from people who used the service and relatives about the care they received and the quality of the staff who delivered their care.

We received positive feedback about the leadership and management of the service. Staff and the relative we spoke with were complimentary about the registered manager and the support she provided. Audits and quality monitoring was taking place which demonstrated safe care provided by the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 November 2017

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 November 2017

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 November 2017

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 November 2017

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 November 2017

The service remains well-led.