You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Apple Blossom Court. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 March 2019

About the service: Apple Blossom Court is a residential home registered to provide accommodation and support to up to 17 adults who have learning disabilities. The home is situated in a residential area of Wallasey with shops and local transport links nearby. We inspected the home 20 and 21 February 2019. The home was providing support to 11 people with one person staying on a short-term basis at the time of inspection.

The home had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People’s experience of using this service: At the last inspection in November 2017 we had rated the service as Requires improvement. This was in relation to the environment, health and safety checks, lack of staff supervision and lack of induction documentation. At the last inspection we also identified that systems and processes did not operate effectively to enable the service to assess, monitor and improve the quality and safety of the services provided.

During this inspection we found improvements had been made. However, we found improvements were needed to the ‘grab file’ that held emergency information for people and the water temperatures were not being regularly checked. This was brought to the registered managers attention that was actioned immediately.

The home had been decorated and refurbished so that the environment was brighter, cleaner and more welcoming. The health and safety checks on the home was regularly completed by the manager and staff were receiving regular supervision. The manager had implemented regular audits of the service and these were completed monthly. The staff induction was in the process of being improved.

At the last inspection in November 2017, we found the provider to be in breach of Regulation as systems to monitor the quality and safety of the service were not always effective. During this inspection we looked to see if improvements had been made and found that they had. The registered manager and staff had a good understanding of their roles and responsibilities within the

service. Systems were in place to monitor the quality and safety of the service. Any issues identified were addressed to ensure quality of care was maintained.

Feedback received during the two days of inspection was all positive from people using the service, relatives and staff.

Staffing were deployed in suitable numbers and staff had time to spend with people and were not rushed. Medication needs were assessed and medication was only given by staff who were trained to do so. Staff were recruited safely, and incident and accidents were analysed for patterns and trends. Risks to people were assessed safely, care plans were person centred and regularly updated.

The care service had not been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

Registering the Right Support gives guidance surrounding the maximum amount of people a home providing support to people with learning disabilities should have. Guidance states this should be six however Apple Blossom Court had been registered since October 2016 to provide a service to 17 people. We saw that the home itself was situated in a residential area and that people with learning disabilities who were using the service were able to live as ordinary a life as any citizen. People were able to make their own decisions about their lives for example what they wanted to do and eat.

Rating at last inspection: Apple Blossom Court was pre

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 22 March 2019

The service was not always safe.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 March 2019

The service was effective

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 March 2019

The service was caring

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 March 2019

The service was responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 March 2019

The service was well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.