You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 17 December 2018

We carried out a focussed inspection on 7 November 2018 to ask the service the following key question; Is the service well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the service was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

CQC previously inspected this service on the 20 February 2018 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding the well led aspect of the service. We checked this as part of this focussed inspection and found that this had been resolved.

This service is registered with CQC under the Health and Social Care Act 2008 in respect of the provision of advice or treatment by, or under the supervision of, a medical practitioner, including the prescribing of medicines for the purposes of weight reduction. At National Slimming and Cosmetic Clinics – Hounslow the aesthetic cosmetic treatments that are also provided are exempt by law from CQC regulation. Therefore we were only able to inspect the treatment for weight reduction but not the aesthetic cosmetic services.

The clinic manager is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Our key findings were:

• The provider had established effective systems and processes to ensure good governance in accordance with the fundamental standards of care.

• The provider had appropriate training records to evidence that staff had the necessary skills and competence to carry out their roles.

• The provider provided evidence of regular appraisals for all staff working in the service.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

• Continue to review the need for chaperoning at the service .

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 17 December 2018

Effective

Updated 17 December 2018

Caring

Updated 17 December 2018

Responsive

Updated 17 December 2018

Well-led

Updated 17 December 2018