You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 5 December 2017

We carried out a focused inspection of Papineni Dental Practice on 9 October 2017.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We carried out the inspection to follow up concerns we originally identified during a comprehensive inspection at this practice on 2 November 2016 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it effective?
  • Is it caring?
  • Is it responsive to people’s needs?
  • Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

At the previous comprehensive inspection we found the registered provider was providing effective, caring and responsive care in accordance with relevant regulations. We judged the practice was not providing safe and well-led care in accordance with, regulation 17 Good Governance, and regulation 18 Staffing of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Papineni Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made some improvements to put right the shortfalls and deal with the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 2 November 2016

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to put right the shortfalls and deal with the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 2 November 2016.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review the practice's protocols for completion of dental care records taking into account guidance provided by the Faculty of General Dental Practice regarding clinical examinations and record keeping
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 5 December 2017

At our inspection on 2 November 2016 we judged the practice was not providing safe care and told the provider to take action as described in our requirement notice. At the inspection on 9 October 2017 we noted the practice had made some improvements to meet the requirement notice. For example there had been improvements in staff training and infection control procedures. There were some improvements in staff’s understanding of RIDDOR and incident reporting, and safeguarding training to ensure staff had information to refer to should they have concerns relating to the safety or welfare of patients. There was continued scope to improve and embed these changes within the practice.

Effective

Updated 5 December 2017

Caring

Updated 5 December 2017

Responsive

Updated 5 December 2017

Well-led

No action required

Updated 5 December 2017

The provider had made some improvements to the management of the service. There were some improvements in the overall governance of the practice with reviewed protocols and infection control processes. There was scope to improve and embed changes such as the recording of health information in patient records. These improvements provided a footing for the ongoing development of more effective governance arrangement within the practice.