You are here

Practice Plus Group Hospital, Southampton Outstanding

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Outstanding

Updated 16 January 2019

Southampton Treatment Centre is operated by Care UK. The hospital has 19 beds. Facilities include a day ward, five operating theatres, pre-admission area and theatre sterile supplies unit and two endoscopy suites, one gynaecology suite, a physiotherapy gym room and outpatient facilities.

The hospital provides surgery and outpatients services. There were no services provided to persons under the age of sixteen. Day case and inpatient surgery specialities included major and minor orthopaedics, ears nose and throat, and general surgery. We inspected surgery and outpatient services.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology.

Our rating of this service improved. We rated it as outstanding overall.

  • Feedback from people who used the service was continually positive about the way staff treated people. People told us that staff went an extra mile and their care and support exceeded their expectations. They told us that staff had been kind and had treated them with compassion and care.
  • Patients felt really cared for and that they mattered. Patients told us they felt involved in the decisions about their care, and relatives told us they were kept informed and updated.
  • Patients were contacted by telephone three days prior to their admission date to check the patient understood their admission details and to check they were not suffering any illness. This helped identify any potential cancellation of operation allowing the service to offer that appointment to another patient.
  • The service had exceptional leaders at every level, who cared for their staff and did not expect them to do anything they themselves were not prepared to do. There was a learning culture where staff were encouraged to be honest, open and transparent.
Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 January 2019

We rated safe as good because:

Managers continued to make sure staff received mandatory training in key skills. Staff had training on how to recognise and report abuse and they knew how to apply it. Managers investigated incidents and shared lessons learned with the whole team and the wider service.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 January 2019

We rated effective as good because:

Managers checked to make sure staff followed guidance. Staff continued to assess and to monitor patients regularly to see if they were in pain. Managers monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment and used the findings to improve them.

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 16 January 2019

We rated caring as outstanding because:

Feedback from people who used the service was continually positive about the way staff treated people. People told us that staff went an extra mile and their care and support exceeded their expectations. They told us that staff had been kind and had treated them with compassion and care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 January 2019

We rated responsive as good because:

Staff responded positively to all patient feedback and responded by making changes to the environment or to processes to make patient experience ‘as painless as possible.’ The outpatient clinics at the treatment centre were planned with precision and care to ensure the patients did not have to wait for unnecessary periods of time.

Well-led

Outstanding

Updated 16 January 2019

We rated well-led as outstanding because:

There was compassionate, inclusive and effective leadership at all levels. The implementation of plans had improved and this had a positive impact on quality and sustainability of the service. Leaders had an inspiring shared purpose and strove to deliver and motivate staff to succeed. There was demonstrated commitment to best practice performance and risk management systems and processes. Plans were consistently implemented, and had a positive impact on quality and sustainability of services. There were six monthly quality review meeting where the leadership team from the treatment centre and the clinical commissioning groups reviewed how the service was contributing to the overall vision of the health economy.

Checks on specific services

Outpatients

Outstanding

Updated 16 January 2019

We rated this service as outstanding because the staff without exception demonstrated respect, kindness and care to patients and relatives and also towards their colleagues.

The service had exceptional leaders at every level, who cared for their staff and did not expect them to do anything they themselves were not prepared to do. There was a learning culture where staff were encouraged to be honest, open and transparent.

Surgery

Outstanding

Updated 16 January 2019

Surgery was the main activity of the hospital. Where our findings on surgery also apply to other services, we do not repeat the information but cross-refer to the surgery section.

We rated this service as outstanding because feedback from people was continually positive about the way staff treated people. People told us that staff went an extra mile and their care and support exceeded their expectations. They told us that staff had been kind and had treated them with compassion and care.