You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 7 April 2020

We undertook a follow up desk-based inspection of East Street Dental Centre on 25 March 2020. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported remotely by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of East Street Dental Centre on 1 October 2019 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well-led care and was in breach of regulations 17 and 18 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for East Street Dental Centre on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met, we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breaches we found at our inspection on 1 October 2019.

Background

East Street Dental Centre is in Bedminster, Bristol and provides NHS and private dental treatment to adults and children.

There is no level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Patients whose mobility needs require level access are directed or referred to a nearby practice with level access. Car parking is available near the practice both on street and in a nearby car park.

The dental team includes two dentists, a dental hygienist, three dental nurses including one trainee dental nurse, a practice manager and one receptionist. The practice has four treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a company and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. At the time of inspection there was no registered manager in post as required as a condition of registration. A registered manager is legally responsible for the delivery of services for which the practice is registered. The current practice manager is in the process of becoming the registered manager with CQC.

The practice is open:

Monday to Thursday: from 8.30am to 6.30pm and Friday: 8.30am to 5.30pm.

Our key findings were:

  • The decontamination areas had been reviewed and additional shelving had been installed to ensure a positive flow of dental instruments from the dirty area to the clean.
  • All staff had received infection control training since the last inspection.
  • Systems and processes had been introduced to ensure single-use dental items were not re-used.
  • All clinical staff had up-to-date indemnity insurance.
  • All clinical staff at the practice had documentation identifying they had immunity to the Hepatitis B virus. The receptionist had a risk assessment relating to Hepatitis B on file.
  • All staff had undergone a valid Disclosure and Barring Service check.
  • An external contractor had surveyed the flat roof, and produced a report identifying this area was safe.
  • Radiation procedures at the practice had been reviewed and updated.
  • All staff had received fire safety training since the last inspection on 1 October 2019.
  • A change of in-house management has resulted in a review of the supervision and support arrangements for staff.
  • All staff had completed life support and medical emergencies training.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 7 April 2020

Effective

No action required

Updated 7 April 2020

Caring

No action required

Updated 7 April 2020

Responsive

No action required

Updated 7 April 2020

Well-led

No action required

Updated 7 April 2020