You are here

Cabrini House 3 (Diagrama Healthcare) Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

This unannounced inspection took place on 7 December 2018. At our last inspection on 6 and 8 June 2016 we rated the service Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Cabrini House 3 is one of three small separate care homes run by the provider in the same road that provides accommodation care and support to eight people with learning difficulties. People in care homes receive accommodation and personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both aspects were looked at during this inspection. At the time of the inspection there were eight people living at the home.

The service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. So that people with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen

The service had a registered manager. They were aware of their responsibilities and had submitted notifications as required. They were aware of their legal requirement to display their current CQC rating which we saw was on display at the service and on the provider’s website.

At the inspection we found systems to monitor the quality of the service were being reviewed and changed following a recommendation in our recent inspection report about one of the other homes.

There were enough staff at the service to meet people’s needs. Effective and safe recruitment processes had been established. The environment had been adapted to meet people’s needs. Staff received sufficient training supervision and support to meet their responsibilities and carry out their roles.

Safeguarding procedures continued to protect people from the risk of abuse or neglect. Staff were knowledgeable about different types of abuse and who to report any concerns to. There were processes in place to respond to accidents and incidents and identify learning. Individual risks to people were assessed and written guidance provided to staff to reduce the likelihood of these risks occurring. Medicines remained safely managed. The service was clean and staff understood how to reduce the risk of infections.

People's needs were assessed in partnership with people, their families and health and social care professionals where relevant before they started at the service.

Staff understood their responsibilities under MCA 2005. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

People’s dietary needs were met. The service worked with health and social care professionals to help maintain the health of people they supported. The service supported people when they used other services through regular communication to ensure their care and support needs were well coordinated.

People and relatives told us staff treated people with kindness and care. Staff respected people’s individuality and promoted their independence. People were involved as far as possible in decisions about their care and staff treated them with dignity and respect.

People’s diverse needs were respected and supported. People received support that was personalised to their needs. Information was available to people in a range of accessible formats. People and their relatives knew how to complain about the service should they need to.

People were supported to engage in the community, gain employment, learn new skills and in activities that they enjoyed for their well-being. Pe

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The home remains rated Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The home remains rated Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The home remains rated Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The home remains rated Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The home remains rated Good.