You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

This inspection took place on 25 and 26 April 2018.

This service provides personal care to adults and children living in their own homes. This included a service to provide practical support to enable carers to have a break from their caring responsibilities.

Not everyone using Crossroads Care Ribble Valley receives the regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with personal care; which means help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do receive personal care we also take into account any wider social care provided.

Crossroads Care Ribble Valley provides a service to older adults, older adults living with a dementia, younger adults with mental ill health, children and younger adults with a learning disability.

The agency's office is located on the outskirts of Clitheroe. At the time of the inspection the service was providing care and support to 79 people.

At our last inspection on 26 and 27 August 2015 the overall rating of the service was ‘Good.’ At this inspection, we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

We found there were management and leadership arrangements in place to support the effective day to day running of the service. There were systems in place to consult with people who used the service and staff, to assess and monitor the quality of their experiences and make improvements.

Arrangements were in place to ensure staff were properly checked before working at the service.

Systems were in place to ensure staff received ongoing training/learning and supervision. There were sufficient numbers of staff at the service. Staff were aware of the signs and indicators of abuse and they knew what to do if they had any concerns. Staff had received training on safeguarding and protection matters.

Risks to people’s individual well-being were being assessed and processes were in place to support people safely with their medicines. Some matters needed to improve; but we found the registered manager had started introducing further safeguards. Systems were in place to support people in maintaining a safe and clean home environment.

Arrangements were in place to gather information on people’s backgrounds, their needs, abilities, preferences and routines before they used the service. Each person had care records, describing their individual needs, preferences and routines. We found some records lacked detail and included generalised comments one care plan was not fit for purpose. However it was clear that improvements were being made. People’s needs and choices were kept under review and changes were responded to.

People’s individual dietary needs, likes and dislikes were known. Arrangements were in place to support people with meals and drinks as appropriate.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. Policies and processes at the service supported this practice. Processes were in place to support people with any concerns or complaints.

People were supported were supported with their healthcare needs. Changes in people’s health and well-being were monitored and responded to. Where people received end of life care this was planned and provided sensitively.

People made positive comments about the staff team including their friendly approach, listening skills and respectful manners. Staff expressed a practical awareness of responding to people as individuals and promoting their rights, privacy and choices. Where appropriate, people were supported to engage in meaningful activities the community.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The service remains Good.