You are here

Tendercare Home Ltd Inadequate

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 16 February 2021

About the service

Tendercare Home Ltd is a residential care home providing personal care and accommodation for up to 43 older people some of whom may live with Dementia. The service was supporting 30 people at the time of the inspection.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People were not supported in a safe way. People were not protected from potential harm and abuse. Abuse or improper treatment was not always reported and investigated. Medicines were not managed safely.

The provider’s systems failed to identify that care and support was not provided in a safe way. Audits did not identify concerns with risks to people, safeguarding, medicines, and care plans.

Staff concerns were not always acted on. Staff practice was not effectively monitored, and new staff did not receive the training they needed for their role.

The provider did take immediate action when information of concern was shared with them to protect people from further harm.

Rating at last inspection. The last rating for this service was Good (published 14 March 2020).

Why we inspected

We received whistle blowing concerns in relation to safeguarding, medicines management, moving and handling, and the management of the service. As a result, we undertook a focused inspection to review the key questions of safe and well-led only. We received further whistle blowing concerns on the 17 November 2020 which were also reviewed as part of this inspection process.

We reviewed the information we held about the service. No areas of concern were identified in the other key questions. We therefore did not inspect them. Ratings from previous comprehensive inspections for those key questions were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection.

The overall rating for the service has changed from good to inadequate. This is based on the findings at this inspection

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the Safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to coronavirus and other infection outbreaks effectively.

We have found evidence that the provider needs to make improvement. Please see the Safe and Well Led sections of this full report. The provider took immediate action to mitigate the risks of people receiving unsafe care.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Tendercare Home Ltd on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Enforcement

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to discharge our regulatory enforcement functions required to keep people safe and to hold providers to account where it is necessary for us to do so.

We have identified breaches in relation to safe care and treatment, safeguarding, staffing, and governance. Please see the action we have told the provider to take at the end of this report.

Follow up

We will work alongside the provider and local authority to monitor progress. We will return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Special Measures:

The overall rating for this service is ‘Inadequate’ and the service is therefore in ‘special measures’. This means we will keep the service under review and, if we do not propose to cancel the provider’s registration, we will re-inspect within 6 months to check for significant improvements.

If the provider has not made enough improvement within this timeframe. And there is still a rating of inadequate for any key question or overall rating, we will take action in line with our

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Updated 16 February 2021

The service was not safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 February 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 16 February 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 February 2021

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 16 February 2021

The service was not well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below.