You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

Upton House is a privately owned residential care home for up to 20 older people living with dementia. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. At the time of our inspection 16 people were provided with accommodation and personal care. The house is a large, Georgian style, listed building set in its own private well-maintained grounds near to the village of Worth. Accommodation is provided on two floors with stair lifts to enable people to access both floors. There are communal lounges on the ground floor, a large dining room and conservatory.

Our last inspection on 20 December 2016 was a focused inspection to check the home was meeting the legal requirements following a breach from the previous comprehensive inspection on 10 and 11 March 2016. The breach was in relation to insufficient staff guidance for risk management and medicines not being managed safely. At the focused inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider had met the legal requirements with regards to risk management and the management of medicines. However, there was a recommendation for the provider to ensure all risk assessments were personalised and contained full guidance to reduce and mitigate risks to people. We therefore rated the home as Requires Improvement in the safe domain and it remained Good in all other domains and overall.

At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the home has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

The provider had acted on our recommendation. Risks to people were assessed on an individual basis and there was comprehensive guidance for staff. People were kept safe from avoidable harm and could raise any concerns with the registered manager. There was enough suitably trained and safely recruited staff to meet people’s needs. Medicines were administered safely and there was clear guidance for staff on how to support people to take their medicines. People were protected from any environmental risks in a clean and well-maintained home. Lessons were learnt from accidents and incidents.

People’s needs and rights to equality had been assessed and care plans had been kept up to date when people’s needs changed. Relatives we spoke to told us their loved one’s general health and wellbeing had improved since living at the home. Staff had the right induction, training and on-going support to do their job. People were supported to eat and drink enough to maintain a balanced diet and were given choice with their meals. People accessed the healthcare they needed and staff worked closely with other organisations to meet individual’s needs. People’s needs were met by the homes facilities and attention was paid to make the home ‘dementia friendly’. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the home supported this practice.

People and relatives we spoke with told us that staff were caring and the management team ensured there was a culture which promoted treating people with kindness, respect and compassion. Staff were attentive to people and everyone was clean and well dressed. The home had received positive feedback and people were involved in their care as much as possible. Staff protected people’s privacy and dignity and people were encouraged to be as independent as possible. Visitors were made welcome.

People received personalised care which met their needs and care plans were person centred and up to date. Wher

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service has improved to Good.

Risks to people were assessed on an individual basis and there was guidance for staff on how to manage the risks.

Systems and processes were in place to protect people from abuse and avoidable harm.

People�s medicines were managed and used safely.

There were sufficient, suitable staff available to keep people safe and meet their needs.

People were protected by the prevention and control of infection.

The management team learnt from incidents and accidents and made improvements as a result.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains Good.