You are here

Community Supported Living Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 April 2019

This inspection took place on 12 and 18 March 2019. We gave notice of the inspection to the registered manager to ensure they would be available.

Community Supported Living is a community based organisation that supports people, predominantly people who have mental health needs, to live in their own homes. At the time of our inspection, Community Supported Living supported 69 people who lived on the Wirral and employed 39 staff.

Not everyone using the service received the regulated activity ‘personal care’. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) only inspects the service being received by people provided with personal care such as help with tasks relating to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do, we also take into account any wider social care provided.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection on 3 and 16 June 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The support people received was reliable and was delivered at a time agreed with them. People’s support plans were person-centred and focused on their individual support needs and managing risks to their health and wellbeing. This meant that people who had a history of frequent hospital admissions were able to live in the community without being admitted to hospital.

The service was fully staffed with trained and experienced support workers. Staff told us they were well supported and were happy in their roles. New staff were recruited safely and received a comprehensive induction, training and support programme. Established staff received regular supervision, appraisal, and training refreshers.

People told us they were happy with the support they received and that all of the staff were caring and respectful.

The manager and other senior staff worked alongside the support workers and people knew them by name and found them approachable. The manager had systems in place to monitor the quality of the service and to consult with people about the service they received.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 April 2019

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 April 2019

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 April 2019

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 April 2019

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 April 2019

The service remains good.