You are here

Archived: MYA Cosmetic Surgery Limited (Newcastle-upon-Tyne)

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 15 August 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 15 March 2016 (and an additional announced visit was carried out on the 25 May 2016 to review staff files). We asked the service the following key questions: Are services; safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this service was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 15 August 2016

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

  • There were systems for reporting and learning from incidents. This included clinical and non-clinical incidents. The service followed the duty of candour regulations and provided an apology and explanation to patients following incidents.
  • Infection prevention and control processes were in place. Systems for the management and administration of medicines and checking of equipment were followed.
  • Staff were aware of safeguarding procedures and had received training.
  • Staffing levels were sufficient to meet patient demand. Processes were in place to provide cover if staffing fell below expected levels.
  • Risks to patients were assessed, monitored and managed daily. Plans were in place to respond to medical emergencies. 

Effective

Updated 15 August 2016

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

  • Patients were assessed and treated in line with evidence-based practice. There were effective consent processes and patients received sufficient information to make decisions about their treatment.
  • There was participation in monthly and yearly audit programmes. The company also employed a Standards Lead Nurse, who completed a comprehensive inspection of the clinic each year. Audits were reviewed and working practices and policies amended as necessary before being implemented throughout MYA.
  • The company produced ‘Regional Reports’ which compared Newcastle MYA clinic with Leeds, Liverpool and Manchester. The reports included compliance information relating to mandatory training, patient satisfaction, complaints, incidents and audits.
  • Staff completed appropriate training to maintain their skills. Clinical staff had completed revalidation and received a yearly appraisal.

Caring

Updated 15 August 2016

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

  • Patients said they were treated with dignity and respect and they were involved in decisions about their care and treatment.
  • Information for patients about the service was easy to understand and accessible.
  • All staff at the clinic were approachable and friendly.
  • Patient feedback was positive about the standard of care they had received.

Responsive

Updated 15 August 2016

We found that this service was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

  • The service was responsive, and reasonable adjustments were made to ensure patients' needs were met.
  • All patients told us they found it easy to make an appointment and the clinic provided a relaxed atmosphere.
  • Appointment times were managed appropriately. A patient told us: ‘If I was anxious or worried about coming in for a consultation, the manager would always understand and re-arrange my appointment at a later time’. There was out of hours service provision for advice and concerns.
  • Processes were in place to respond to complaints. Complaints and concerns were taken seriously and learning was evident.

Well-led

Updated 15 August 2016

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

  • There was a clear leadership structure and staff felt they were supported by management.

  • Governance arrangements were reviewed and local processes fed into the corporate governance structures. There was a local risk register, which was reviewed regularly and updated to reflect best practice.
  • The practice had a number of robust policies and procedures to govern activity and there was a comprehensive programme of audits completed across the year.
  • All clinic staff were aware of the duty of candour and gave clear examples as to how it was used in the services that they provided.
  • All staff said they enjoyed their job and that patient care was the priority. They commented on the good teamwork and support. The service encouraged feedback from patients through on-line real time surveys and complaints. Staff engagement in service delivery was improving.