You are here

HCA Healthcare UK Outpatients & Diagnostics Centre at Golders Green Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 March 2019

HCA Healthcare UK Outpatients & Diagnostics Centre at Golders Green is operated by Wellington Diagnostic Services LLP. The centre was opened in 2007; it offers private outpatients consultations, diagnostic tests and treatment for people of all ages including children. The centre was established to serve the local community with diagnostic and screening facilities.

Patients are offered fast and convenient access to a wide range of services ensuring timely diagnosis and management. The centre uses the latest diagnostic imaging technology, including Computerised Tomography (CT), Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), a Bone Densitometry (DEXA) scanner, X-ray, ultrasound and specialist cardiac screening, pathology, minor procedures and most of these procedures are accommodated on the same day.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We inspected the diagnostic and outpatient department. We carried out the unannounced part of the inspection on the 23 and 29 October 2018.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Services we rate

We rated it as good overall.

  • The service had a strong, visible patient centred culture. Staff were highly motivated and aspired to offer care that was kind and promoted people’s dignity.
  • Patient’s individual needs and preferences were central to the planning and delivery of the service. The services were flexible and provided choice.
  • The centre offered a wide range of outpatient clinics and diagnostic imaging services to meet the needs of patients, this gave choice and continuity of care to patients.
  • The service had systems to monitor the quality and safety of the service. The use of audits, risk assessments and recording of information relating to the service performance was to a high standard.
  • The managers were clear about the vision and strategy of the organisation to make sure it provided high quality care.
  • The centre was clean and tidy with infection control processes in place.
  • There were no reported infections in the last 12 months.
  • Staff were positive about their working experience and felt supported to be part of a team.
  • Patients we spoke to and feedback we received about the service was positive. There was a minimum of 24-hour turnaround for patients from their initial contact to having their scan done at the centre.
  • The service exceeded its key performance indicator for reporting on diagnostic images with 98% of reports being completed within 24 hours.
  • Staff demonstrated kindness and understanding of how to meet patients’ needs to ensure that their experience was positive.

We found areas of practice that require improvement:

  • The local rules for radiation protection were generic and were not specifically adapted to the service.
  • The staff sign off sheet for the patient group directions did not include the details of each patient group direction.

Nigel Acheson

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals (London and the South East)

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 March 2019

We rated safe as good because:

  • There were systems and processes for reporting and investigating safety incidents and staff understood these well.
  • There were effective systems in place at the centre to ensure patient safety.
  • All staff knew their roles and responsibilities in ensuring patients and their relatives were safe.
  • Staff understood the duty of candour and provided examples of its application.
  • There was an effective maintenance schedule for all equipment.
  • The centre was visibly clean, tidy and clutter free and there were arrangements for infection prevention and control.
  • Patient records were secured and stored appropriately.
  • The management maintained adequate staffing levels to ensure patient safety.
  • Staff were competent and had completed mandatory training.
  • The centre had a business continuity plan and staff knew how to respond in the event of a major incident.

However, we also found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

  • The local rules for radiation protection were generic and were not specifically adapted to the service.
  • The staff sign-off sheet for the patient group directions did not include the details of each patient group direction.

Effective

Updated 5 March 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 5 March 2019

We rated caring as good because:

  • Staff highly valued people’s emotional and social needs and embedded them in their care and treatment.
  • Staff understood and respected patients cultural and religious needs.
  • The service had a strong, visible patient-centred culture. Staff were highly motivated and aspired to offer care that was kind and promoted people’s dignity.
  • Staff understood the impact that patient care, treatment and condition had on the patient’s wellbeing.
  • Patients felt fully informed about their care and treatment. The patients we spoke with had a good understanding of their condition and the proposed diagnostic test they had attended for.
  • All patients we spoke with, consistently gave positive accounts of their experience with the centre and its staff. They told us the staff were excellent and that they were always polite and courteous.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 5 March 2019

We rated responsive as outstanding because:

  • Patient’s individual needs and preferences were central to the planning and delivery of the service. The services were flexible and provided choice.
  • The centre offered a wide range of outpatient clinics and diagnostic imaging services to meet the needs of the patient group. This gave choice and continuity of care to patients locally.
  • The centre did not have a waiting list for diagnostic imaging tests and outpatient consultation appointments. Patients were offered appointments within 24 hours.
  • The service exceeded its own key performance indicator for reporting on diagnostic images with 98% of reports being completed within 24 hours.
  • There were effective arrangements in place for planning and booking appointments for the diagnostic imaging and outpatients department.
  • Patients had the choice of booking the dates and times of their appointments to suit their needs.
  • There was a system for learning from complaints.

Well-led

Good

Updated 5 March 2019

We rated well-led as good because:

  • The centre had a clear vision and strategy for future goals and expansion and this was in line with the HCA Healthcare UK corporate vision and strategy.
  • There was strong leadership of the service, and staff spoke positively about the culture of the centre and the organisation.
  • During our inspection, it was clear that the quality of patient care and treatment was a high priority.
  • There was a clear governance structure and a comprehensive reporting framework that provided timely information to the senior management team.
  • The senior management team made themselves accessible to staff by being available when needed, being open and transparent in their engagement with the staff at the centre.
  • Staff we spoke with said they felt able to raise concerns and were confident that they would be dealt with appropriately.
  • We saw evidence of public and staff engagement. The centre demonstrated that patient experience was the key factor for their service development.
Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 5 March 2019

We rated the service as good. The service had a strong, visible person-centred culture. Staff were highly motivated and inspired to offer care that was kind and promoted people’s dignity.

Patient’s individual needs and preferences were central to the planning and delivery of the service. The services were flexible and provided choice.

The centre offered a wide range of diagnostic imaging services to meet the needs of patients. This gave choice and continuity of care to patients locally.

Outpatients

Good

Updated 5 March 2019

We rated the service as good. The service had a strong, visible person-centred culture. Staff were highly motivated and inspired to offer care that was kind and promoted people’s dignity.

Patient’s individual needs and preferences were central to the planning and delivery of the service. The services were flexible and provided choice.

The centre offered a wide range of diagnostic imaging services to meet the needs of patients. This gave choice and continuity of care to patients locally.