You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 July 2018

We inspected Nightingales Home Care on 17 and 18 July 2018.

Nightingales Home Care is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community. At the time of our inspection the agency was providing personal care to seven people.

The last inspection was carried out on 8 and 9 March 2016. Whilst we rated the service as overall “Good”, we found there were shortfalls in the recruitment of new staff. During this inspection, we found the necessary improvements had been made and the service was meeting all the current regulations.

At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People were happy with the care and support they received and made positive comments about the staff. They told us they felt safe and staff were caring. People had developed positive trusting relationships with staff. Staff understood how to protect people from abuse.

The information in people's support plans was sufficiently detailed and risks to their health and safety had been identified and managed safely. People's care and support was kept under review and they were involved in decisions about their care. Staff worked in partnership with relevant health and social care professionals when people's needs changed.

A safe and robust recruitment procedure had been developed since our last inspection. The management team were aware of the process to be followed to ensure new staff were suitable. Arrangements were in place to make sure staff were trained and competent. People considered there were enough staff to provide them with a reliable, flexible and consistent service.

People had choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff respected people's diversity and promoted people's right to be free from discrimination; people's dignity and privacy was respected.

People's nutritional needs were monitored as necessary and staff knew their likes and dislikes. People told us they were happy and did not have any complaints but were confident they would be listened to. Staff administering medicines had received training and supervision to do this safely.

There were effective systems for assessing, monitoring and developing the quality of the service being provided to people. People and staff were consulted and their views were acted upon.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 July 2018

The service has improved to Good.

Staff were trained to recognise any abuse and they knew how to report any concerns.

There were enough staff available to provide flexible support and to keep people safe.

Risks to people�s wellbeing and safety were being assessed and managed.

Safe recruitment procedures were followed and processes were in place for people to receive support with their medicines.

Effective

Good

Updated 26 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 26 July 2018

The service remains Good.