You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

Treeton Grange Nursing Home is situated in the village of Treeton which is approximately six miles from the town of Rotherham. The home stands in large open grounds and provides care for up to 50 older people. Bedroom facilities are provided on the ground and first floor level; access to the first floor is by a lift. There are several communal areas including lounges dining areas and a separate activity room. At the time of this inspection there were 49 peopleliving at the home.

At the last inspection on the March 2015 the service was rated Good.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Treeton Grange Nursing Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk’

At this unannounced inspection on the 27 July 2017 we found the service remained Good. The service met all relevant fundamental standards.

The service has a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. However the registered manager was working their notice and a new manager had been appointed and was working alongside them to enable a full hand over. The new manager had commenced the registration process with CQC.

Staff were knowledgeable about how to recognise signs of potential abuse and aware of the reporting procedures. Assessments identified risks to people and management plans to reduce the risks were in place. People we spoke with told us they felt safe and were extremely positive about the care they received.

Risks had been identified and management systems were in place to monitor risk and reduce incidents ensuring peoples safety. There were also detailed assessments to follow in case of an emergency.

At the time of the inspection there were sufficient staff on duty to meet people’s needs. People and their relatives we spoke with told us they thought there were sufficient staff on duty. Robust recruitments procedures ensured the right staff were employed to meet people’s needs safely.

Systems were in place to ensure management of medicines was safe. Staff received training and competency assessments to administer medications safely. The provider completed regular audits of the system to ensure standards were maintained.

We observed staff and found they took account of people’s individual needs and preferences while supporting them. People were supported to have choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible.

Staff were aware of peoples nutritional needs and people were supported to maintain a balanced diet. People we spoke with told us the food was good. People were also supported to maintain good health and had access to health care services.

People were treated with respect. People and their relatives told us staff were kind and very caring. Staff we spoke with able to tell us how they respected people’s preferences and ensured their privacy and dignity was maintained.

People received personalised care that was responsive to their needs. People told us they could take part in activities of their own choice and that there were also organised group activities. People told us they enjoyed the activities.

There was a system in place to tell people how to raise concerns and how these would be managed. People told us they would feel comfortable raising any concerns with the management team.

People and their relatives who we spoke with were very happy with how the service was run. There were systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided. Areas for improvements had been identified and action plans were in place these were followed by staff. The provider also had a quality team who monitored the service to ensure

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 5 September 2017

The service was well led

The registered manager had changed twice since our last inspection. A new manager had been in post a week at the time of our inspection.

Quality assurance audits had taken place regularly any actions required were identified and systems were in pace to ensure continued improvements.

People and their relatives felt they had a voice and were able to contribute their ideas and suggestions.