You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 August 2021

We undertook this comprehensive inspection to look at all key lines of enquiries and the progress made in relation to the warning notices. The hospital was placed into special measures following an inspection in August 2020. We saw in October 2020, that managers had introduced treatment interventions and specialised staff training but this had not been fully embedded. It was evident during this inspection that the new treatment interventions were routinely used to support patients’ rehabilitation.

We saw that the provider had addressed the warning notices issued in September 2020. The service now met all the requirements issued in the warning notices under Section 29 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

Our rating of this service improved. We rated it as good because:

  • The service provided safe care. The ward environments were safe and clean. The hospital had enough nurses and doctors. Staff assessed and managed risk well. They minimised the use of restrictive practices, managed medicines safely and followed good practice with respect to safeguarding
  • Staff developed holistic, recovery oriented care plans informed by comprehensive patient assessments. They provided a range of treatments suitable to the needs of the patients cared for in a mental health rehabilitation ward and in line with national guidance about best practice
  • Staff treated patients with compassion and kindness, respected their privacy and dignity, and understood the individual needs of patients. The service worked to a recognised model of mental health rehabilitation. They actively involved patients and families and carers in care decisions
  • Patients’ comments were overwhelmingly positive. A patient told us they were particularly pleased that the service had therapy animals which aided their management of anxiety and reduced incidents of self harm
  • The hospital had access to the full range of specialists required to meet the needs of patients. The manager ensured staff received training, supervision and appraisal. The ward staff worked well together as a multidisciplinary team
  • We saw staff treated patients with compassion and kindness, respected their privacy and dignity, and understood the individual needs of patients. Staff developed holistic, recovery-oriented care plans informed by a comprehensive assessment. The service worked to a recognised model of mental health rehabilitation
  • Staff planned and managed discharge well and liaised well with services that would provide aftercare. As a result, discharge was rarely delayed for other than a clinical reason
  • Good governance processes were now working effectively at ward level and performance and risk were managed well. The manager has engaged with us through regular engagement and monitoring processes

However:

  • Staff told us they dispensed medication, including those as required from a medicine cabinet in the staff office, situated in the apartments. We noted there was no access to suitable hand washing facilities to enable staff to dispense safely
Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 9 August 2021

Effective

Good

Updated 9 August 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 9 August 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 August 2021

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 August 2021

Checks on specific services

Long stay or rehabilitation mental health wards for working age adults

Good

Updated 9 August 2021

The summary is contained in the overall summary at the beginning of the report. Our rating of this service improved.