You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The inspection was carried out on 16 March 2017 and was unannounced. There were 29 people living in the home at the time of our visit.

Croft House provides personal care and accommodation to a maximum of 29 people, mainly older people and people living with dementia. It is an adapted property which provides accommodation in single rooms some of which have en-suite facilities. The communal rooms are on the ground floor. There is level access to the lower floor and a passenger lift to the first floor. There is an enclosed garden which people can easily access from the ground floor.

The last inspection was in June 2016. At that time we found the service was in breach of five regulations, regulation 11 (Consent), regulation 12 (medicines), regulation 13 (safeguarding), regulation 18 (staff training) and regulation 17 (good governance). We told the provider they must make improvements. The providers, who had always prided themselves on delivering the best possible care to people, acknowledged the shortfalls and acted promptly to address them.

During this inspection we found the provider had taken action to address the concerns identified at our previous inspection. We were assured they were actively engaged in implementing systems to ensure the continuous improvement of the service.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We found the service was exceptionally caring. Everybody we spoke with told us the staff were very caring, kind and compassionate and always treated people with respect. During the inspection we observed staff had developed positive relationships with people. We saw all the staff including those employed as housekeepers and laundry assistants took the time to talk with people as they carried out their work. All the relatives we spoke with were full of praise for the home and the standards of care provided. Everybody we spoke with told us they could recommend the home

Staff we spoke with demonstrated a commitment to making people’s lives as good as possible. We found examples of staff going out of their way to make sure people’s individual needs and wishes were met. We found staff knew people well and were attentive to their needs; they focussed on people’s strengths and supported them to maintain their independence. The providers were actively involved in the day to day running of the home. Throughout the day we observed they provided excellent role models for staff.

We found staff were proactive in making sure risks were addressed and managed so that people were supported to maintain their independence.

People who lived at the home and their relatives told us they felt Croft House was a safe place. Staff knew how to recognise and report any concerns about people’s safety. Any concerns about people’s safety and welfare were identified, dealt with and reported to the relevant agencies. The required checks were done before new staff started work and this helped to protect people from the risk of abuse.

There were enough staff available to meet people’s needs. Throughout the inspection we observed staff were attentive to people’s needs and took care to make sure there was always a member of staff in the communal areas. Improvements had been made to the way staff were trained and supported to deliver safe and effective care. People told us they were confident staff knew how to look after them properly.

We found improvements had been made to the way people’s medicines were managed. People received their prescribed medicines safely.

We found risks to people’s health, safety and welfare were identified and action was taken to minimise and manage risks.

Th

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The service was safe.

People felt safe. Staff knew how to recognise and report any concerns about people’s safety and welfare. Robust recruitment procedures helped to protect people.

There were enough staff to meet people’s needs in a timely way.

People received their medicines as prescribed.

Risks to people’s safety and welfare were managed and the home was clean and well maintained.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The service was effective.

People were asked for consent and their wishes were respected.

People were offered a choice of food and drink which they told us they enjoyed.

People were supported to meet their health care needs and had access to the full range of NHS services.

A system had been put in place to make sure staff received the training they needed to carry out their duties.

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 23 May 2017

The service was exceptionally caring.

People were consistently provided with outstanding care from staff who were extremely kind and compassionate and this was confirmed through our discussions with people and relatives as well as our observations.

Staff had developed positive relationships with people and consistently treated people with respect and ensured their privacy and dignity was maintained at all times. Staff went the extra mile to ensure people’s individual wishes were met

The respect, kindness and compassion which was provided to people living in the home was extended to their relatives who all told us they felt supported by the provider, registered manager and staff.

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The service was responsive.

People’s needs were assessed and care was delivered in a person centred way. Care records were being updated to ensure they reflected people’s individual needs and preferences.

People were supported to take part in a variety of activities which took account of their interests both inside and outside the home.

People told us they had no complaints but knew what to do if they had any concerns.

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The service was well led.

The provider and registered manager were actively involved in the day to day running of the home and were highly thought of by people who lived in the home, relatives and staff.

The management team were committed to continuously improving the experiences of people who used the service. This was demonstrated in practice by the significant improvements they had made since our last inspection and by the processes they had put in place to sustain and build on these improvements.