You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Cambuslodge UK Limited. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 March 2017

We carried out this announced inspection on 8 February 2017. At our last inspection in December 2014 we rated this service “good”. At this inspection we rated this service “good”.

Cambuslodge provides a supported living service to five people with learning disabilities and mental health needs. The service is located in a terraced house, and consists of five bedrooms, a staff office, a large kitchen and dining room, lounge and two shared bathrooms.

The service had a registered manager who had been in post since 2001. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People were supported to plan their care through a system of person-centred reviews. This enabled people to speak up on their health, support and daily activities. There were systems in place to support people to speak up through keyworking and residents meetings, including using accessible formats such as photographs. People who used the service were involved in the day to day running of the house, including household tasks.

Where people had complained, managers had investigated the complaint and taken appropriate measures, but people were also encouraged to speak up and make complaints about other services when they were not satisfied. Managers used the review system to ensure that people and their relatives were satisfied with their care.

The provider carried out suitable checks to ensure that staff were suitable for their roles and that there were enough staff on duty. Staff received good levels of training, appraisal and supervision to ensure that they had the skills to carry out their roles, and managers gave feedback to people on their performance.

People’s rights were protected by ensuring that they had consented to their care and that they had the capacity to do so. The provider ensured they could demonstrate they were working in people’s best interests if they were unable to make a decision for themselves. People were supported to eat healthily, and staff provided support to people to attend health appointments and maintain good health.

Risks to people were managed in a person-centred way which promoted their independence, and there were measures for staff to follow to ensure that people were safe and independent. Risks to people were regularly reviewed by staff. Medicines were safely stored and administered, and checked by staff and an external auditor. Daily handovers were used to ensure the service was safe and that people were happy and had received the appropriate support.

People had extensive activity programmes which included trips and holidays run by the provider. They were also involved in activities in the community, and the provider maintained good communication with the activity providers. People and their relatives told us that they were treated with respect and made choices about their daily lives and we saw friendly interactions between people who used the service and the staff team. One person told us “We get good care.”

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 March 2017

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 7 March 2017

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 7 March 2017

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 March 2017

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 March 2017

The service remains well led.