You are here

Age UK Darlington - Bradbury House Good

We are carrying out checks at Age UK Darlington - Bradbury House. We will publish a report when our check is complete.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 April 2016

We inspected this service on 30 March 2016. The inspection was announced. This meant we gave the provider 24 hours’ notice of our intended visit to ensure someone would be available in the office to meet us.

Age UK Darlington Bradbury House was last inspected on 15 October 2013 and was found to be compliant with the required regulations.

The service is registered to provide personal care to people in their own homes. The service currently delivered a bathing service to 17 people to enable them to have a shower or bath in their own home.

A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. At the time of our inspection there was a registered manager in post.

There was a robust recruitment procedure in place to protect people from cared being delivered by unsuitable staff.

The provider had in place clear guidance to staff regarding gifts and gratuities to prevent people from being placed at risk of financial abuse.

People’s consent was obtained by the provider to provide personal care.

The service had health and safety related procedures, including systems for reporting and recording accidents and incidents. The care records we looked at included risk assessments, which had been completed to identify any risks associated with delivering the person’s care.

People told us when they raised any issues they were dealt with promptly and professionally and everyone we spoke with knew how to speak to the management team at the office if they had any concerns.

People, their relatives and other professionals told us the service was caring. People told us they were treated with dignity and their privacy was respected.

People we spoke with who received personal care felt the staff were knowledgeable, skilled and their care and support package met their needs. People who used the service and their relatives told us that they had a small team of staff, who were reliable and arrived when expected. Staff confirmed that they were not rushed and had time to provide the care people expected.

The provider had in place a statement of confidentiality and staff we spoke to understood the statement.

The provider had in place arrangements to gather information about people before they visited people to assess their needs before delivering the service.

Care plans were reviewed on a regular basis with people who were in receipt of the service.

The service had comprehensive systems to ensure staff were appropriately trained and supported. The service was introducing the Care Certificate for all new staff and staff also had training in dementia care and all were Dementia Friends (this is a scheme run by the Alzheimer’s Society to help people understand about living with dementia).

The service had health and safety related procedures, including systems for reporting and recording accidents and incidents. The care records we looked at included risk assessments, which had been completed to identify any risks associated with delivering the person’s care.

There was a good quality assurance system in place to ensure the service and staff were checked regularly for quality and safety. There were regular staff meetings and incidents and accidents were monitored and reviewed promptly by the registered manager. Age UK Darlington also ensured that people who used the service were contacted on a regular basis to check if the care they received met their needs and they were happy with the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 April 2016

The service was safe.

We found that there were effective processes in place to make sure people were protected from bullying, harassment, avoidable harm and abuse. Staff took appropriate action to raise and investigate incidents and concerns.

Staffing was provided as consistently as possible by a small and well established team. Effective recruitment procedures were in place.

Risk assessments were undertaken of the environment and personal risks and these were regularly reviewed by the registered manager.

Appropriate systems were in place for the management and administration of medicines.

Effective

Good

Updated 26 April 2016

The service was effective.

Staff were trained and supported to deliver the care and support people required.

Records showed and staff understood the importance of obtaining people’s consent prior to any tasks being undertaken.

Staff were aware of how to raise any concerns about people's healthcare needs.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 April 2016

The service was caring.

We heard the staff had developed positive relationships with people and were extremely caring and kind.

People told us their privacy and dignity were very well respected.

Each care package was specifically designed to meet the exact requirements of the person and their environment.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 April 2016

The service was responsive.

People’s care plans contained individual, person centred information about their needs and preferences.

Care was provided on an individual basis, based on people’s individual needs, with changes being made to reflect changing circumstances.

People had been provided with information on how to make formal complaints.

Well-led

Good

Updated 26 April 2016

The service was well-led.

People received a reliable and caring service, and expressed good levels of satisfaction with their care.

Staff told us they were supported by the registered manager.

The service had an accredited quality assurance programme and regularly sought the views of people who used the service.

The service worked in a multi disciplinary way with other agencies and was a hub of support and information for the older community in Darlington.