Our new assessment framework applies to providers, local authorities and integrated care systems. Our 5 key questions and our ratings (outstanding, good, requires improvement and inadequate) are still central to our approach.

Section 1

How we assess quality and performance

How often we carry out assessments, how we gather evidence and calculate ratings, and how to check for factual accuracy.
Last significant update: 25 March 2024 (what we've changed)

Section 2

Single assessment framework

Under each key question there are a set of quality statements. These describe what good care looks like and link to the regulations.
Last significant update: 9 January 2024

Section 3

Evidence categories

To make our judgements more structured and consistent, we collect evidence under 6 categories.
Last significant update: 20 September 2023

Section 4

Which evidence categories we prioritise for your sector

You only need to read or download the section for your sector.
Last significant update: 25 March 2024 (what we've changed)

Evidence categories for:

Change history

25 March 2024

Added new page for NHS trusts in 'How we assess quality and performance' section.
Updated NHS trust information on 'Levels of ratings' page under 'How we assess quality and performance'.
Added evidence categories for NHS trusts (assessments of the well-led key question).