NHS and independent acute hospital services: evidence categories

Page last updated: 22 February 2024


These services include:

See the full list
  • cancer services
  • critical care
  • children and young people’s services
  • diagnostic and screening
  • end of life care
  • gynaecology
  • maternity
  • medical
  • neonatal
  • outpatient department
  • surgery
  • urgent and emergency care

To assess services we look at evidence against our quality statements. We have grouped the types into 6 evidence categories.

We're listing these acute hospital services together as we’ll aim to collect evidence in similar categories.

We know there are differences in how services operate. We'll reflect this when we look at individual sources of evidence in our assessments.