Mental health services: evidence categories

Page last updated: 22 February 2024


These services include:

See the full list
  • acute wards for adults of working age and psychiatric intensive care units
  • child and adolescent mental health wards
  • community mental health services for people with a learning disability or autism
  • community-based mental health services for adults of working age
  • community-based mental health services for older people
  • community-based substance misuse services
  • forensic inpatient or secure wards
  • gender identity services
  • high secure hospitals
  • hospital inpatient-based substance misuse services
  • liaison psychiatry services
  • long stay or rehabilitation mental health wards for working age adults
  • mental health crisis services and health-based places of safety
  • perinatal services
  • personality disorder services
  • residential substance misuse services
  • services for people with acquired brain injury
  • specialist community mental health services for children and young people
  • specialist eating disorder services
  • substance misuse services
  • wards for older people with mental health problems
  • wards for people with learning disabilities or autism

To assess services we look at evidence against our quality statements. We have grouped the types into 6 evidence categories.

We're listing these mental health services together as we’ll aim to collect evidence in similar categories.

We know there are differences in how services operate. We'll reflect this when we look at individual sources of evidence in our assessments.