You are here

Our Board

Our Board is our senior decision-making body and is made up of our chair, chief executive, chief inspectors and our executive and non-executive directors.

The Board:

You can read the biographies for each member of the Board below.

Peter Wyman


Peter Wyman took up the position of Chair of the Care Quality Commission in January 2016. Peter served as Chair of the Yeovil District Hospital NHS Foundation Trust for five years and has held a...
Read Peter Wyman CBE DL's full biography

Ian Trenholm, Chief Executive

Chief Executive

Ian Trenholm has been our Chief Executive since August 2018. Ian was Chief Executive of NHS Blood and Transplant from 2014 until his appointment as our Chief Executive in 2018. He was previously...
Read Ian Trenholm's full biography

Kate Terroni, Chief Inspector of Adult Social Care

Chief Inspector of Adult Social Care

Kate Terroni is our Chief Inspector of Adult Social Care. Kate, a registered social worker, was previously Director of Adult Social Care at Oxfordshire County Council where she embedded co-production...
Read Kate Terroni's full biography

Ted Baker, Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Ted became Chief Inspector of Hospitals in August 2017. He joined CQC in 2014 as Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals. Before joining CQC, he worked in clinical practice for 35 years. He was Medical...
Read Prof Ted Baker's full biography

Rosie Benneyworth, Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Rosie Benneyworth joined CQC as Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care. Prior to this, Rosie was the Director of Strategic Clinical Services Transformation for Somerset...
Read Rosie Benneyworth's full biography

Kirsty Shaw, CQC Chief Operating Officer

Chief Operating Officer

Kirsty joined CQC as our Chief Operating Officer in March 2018. Kirsty has a wealth of experience leading operational change and improvement programmes across public bodies in the environment and...
Read Kirsty Shaw's full biography

Mark Sutton, CQC's Chief Digital Officer

Chief Digital Officer

Mark Sutton joined CQC as Chief Digital Officer in April 2019. Mark has over 20 years’ senior IT management experience in financial services, insurance, retail, healthcare and not-for-profit...
Read Mark Sutton's full biography

Jora Gill

Non-executive director

Jora took up the position of non-executive director of the Care Quality Commission in November 2016. Jora is The Economist Group’s Chief Digital Officer. Since he joined the Group in 2014, he has...
Read Jora Gill's full biography

Non-executive director Liz Sayce

Non-executive director

Liz took up the position of non-executive director of the Care Quality Commission in January 2018. Liz Sayce was, until May 2017, Chief Executive of Disability Rights UK. She has been a member of...
Read Liz Sayce OBE's full biography

Paul Rew, CQC board member

Non-executive director

Paul is an experienced non-executive director in both the private and public sectors and Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. He is currently non-executive director...
Read Paul Rew's full biography

Sir Robert Francis QC

Chair of Healthwatch England

Sir Robert became Chair of Healthwatch England in October 2018. Sir Robert has been a barrister since 1973 and became a Queen’s Counsel in 1992. He is a Recorder (part time Crown Court judge) and...
Read Sir Robert Francis QC's full biography

Last updated:
30 July 2018