You are here

Provider: Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust Requires improvement

On 20 September 2019, we published a report on how well Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust uses its resources. The ratings from this report are:

  • Use of resources: Inadequate  
  • Combined rating: Requires improvement  

Read more about use of resources ratings

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 20 September 2019

Our rating of the trust improved. We rated it as requires improvement because:

Many of the key questions inspected across the six core services in the four hospitals improved. We saw improvements particularly with regard to medicines’ management, infection control, incident reporting and sharing learning across the trust in particular. Local and divisional leadership had improved, and staff were engaging with the trust’s improvement journey. However, further work was required to manage patient flow effectively to ensure all patients had access to the right care at the right time. Leaders knew what to do but as strategies and improvement plans were still being developed and implemented, there was not yet fully demonstrable, sustainable improvements in the quality of all patient care and treatment over time.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 20 September 2019

Our rating of safe improved. We rated it as requires improvement because:

We saw general improvements in the safety of services provided in most areas, however there were some regulatory breaches found regarding staff training, staffing levels, and carrying out timely assessment of patient’ needs. There was a clearer focus on patient safety, but some areas still needed to improve.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 September 2019

Our rating of effective improved. We rated it as good because:

All areas inspected were providing evidence based care and monitoring the outcome of care so that further improvements could be made.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 September 2019

Our rating of caring stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

All staff were caring and compassionate in all areas visited. We rated caring for diagnostic imaging at Alexandra Hospital as outstanding.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 20 September 2019

Our rating of responsive improved. We rated it as requires improvement because:

We saw improvements in access and flow in most areas and complaints’ management. However, not all patients in emergency care, medical care and outpatients’ services were receiving timely assessment and treatment.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 20 September 2019

Our rating of well-led stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

We saw that local, divisional and trust leaders knew what improvements needed to be made to ensure all patients had the best possible care. However, further work was required to fully embed improvement plans to ensure sustained improvements over time. The trust board had a clear direction but some of the executive posts were interim. Financial management of the trust required consolidation and improvement.

Assessment of the use of resources

Use of resources summary

Inadequate

Updated 20 September 2019

Combined rating