You are here

Provider: University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust Good

On 31 August 2018, we published a report on how well University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust uses its resources. The ratings from this report are:

  • Use of resources: Requires improvement  
  • Combined rating: Requires improvement  

Read more about use of resources ratings

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 February 2020

Our rating of the trust improved. We rated it as good because:

  • The safe, effective, caring and well led key questions were all rated as good.
  • The responsive key question stayed the same as requires improvement.
  • Both hospitals were rated as good overall.
  • Improvements were seen in the urgent and emergency care, critical care, maternity and outpatient core services inspected.
Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 February 2020

Our rating of safe improved. We rated it as good because:

  • Both hospitals were rated as good for safety.
  • All core services inspected were rated as good for safety.
  • The additional service of neurosurgery was rated as requires improvement for safety.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 February 2020

Our rating of effective stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

  • Both hospitals were rated as good for effectiveness.
  • All core services inspected were rated as good for effectiveness.
  • The additional service of neurosurgery was rated as requires improvement for effectiveness.
  • We did not rate outpatients for effectiveness.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 February 2020

Our rating of caring stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

  • Both hospitals were rated as good for caring.
  • All core services inspected were rated as good for caring.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 11 February 2020

Our rating of responsive stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • All core services inspected at this inspection were rated as good for responsiveness.
  • The additional service of neurosurgery was rated as requires improvement for responsiveness.
  • Combining core service ratings from this inspection, with previous inspection ratings, University Hospital Coventry was requires improvement.
  • Hospital St Cross was rated as good for responsive overall.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 February 2020

Our rating of well-led stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

  • Both hospitals were rated as good for being well led.
  • All core services inspected were rated as good for being well led.
  • The additional service of neurosurgery was rated as requires improvement for being well led.
Assessment of the use of resources

Use of resources summary

Requires improvement

Updated 11 February 2020

  • The NHS Trust’s overall Cost Per Weighted Activity Unit (WAU) of £2,086 places it below the national median and in the second-best cost quartile nationally, with nursing and AHP staffing costs significantly contributing to this position
  • Readmission rates are below national and peer medians, as are rates of missed appointments (DNAs)
  • Agency spend, though higher than the national average, has been reduced and is maintained below the ceilings set by NHS improvement.
  • The NHS trust is progressing the use of technology to achieve more effective deployment of its workforce and alternative workforce models are being used to ensure continuity of service delivery in hard to recruit to areas.
  • Areas of high performance were noted within the clinical support services area, particularly in pathology and pharmacy

However,

  • For most of the constitutional operational performance standards the NHS trust is below the national benchmark, with the exception of the 6 week diagnostic standard.
  • Despite the levels of productivity demonstrated in the overall cost per unit of activity (WAU) there is a significant underlying deficit and an inconsistent track record of delivery against financial plans.
  • Linked to the above has been an inconsistent track record in delivering the trust’s Cost Improvement Programme (CIP), with shortfalls noted last year and in this current year, therefore putting the overall financial plan in 2019/20 at risk in terms of achievement.
  • Sickness rates remain above national medians.

Combined rating

Combined rating summary

Good

Updated 11 February 2020

Our rating of combined quality and resources improved. We rated it as good because:

  • The safe, effective, caring and well led key questions were all rated as good.
  • The responsive key question stayed the same as requires improvement.
  • Both hospitals were rated as good overall.
  • Improvements were seen in the urgent and emergency care, critical care, maternity and outpatient core services inspected.