You are here

Provider: University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust Requires improvement

On 14 February 2020, we published a report on how well University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust uses its resources. The ratings from this report are:

  • Use of resources: Requires improvement  
  • Combined rating: Requires improvement  

Read more about use of resources ratings

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 14 February 2020

Our rating of the trust stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • We found significant concerns regarding the care and treatment of patients in the emergency department at Royal Stoke Hospital.
  • We found serious issues in relation to the care and treatment of patients with mental health needs and patients who lacked mental capacity to make decisions. These concerns were mainly focussed within medical care and urgent care services. As a result of these concerns we took urgent enforcement actions to ensure patients were safe.
  • Governance systems although embedded were over complicated and unreliable. However, we found that the newly appointed chief executive was undertaking extensive work to improve these systems.
  • In rating the trust, we took into account the current ratings of services not inspected this time.

Our full inspection report summarising what we found and the supporting evidence appendix containing detailed evidence and data about the trust is available on our website – www.cqc.org.uk/provider/reports.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 14 February 2020

Our rating of safe stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • One core service was rated as inadequate and four core services were rated as requires improvement for safe at Royal Stoke Hospital.
  • All three core services inspected at County Hospital were rated as requires improvement for safe.
  • In rating safe, we took into account the current ratings of services not inspected this time.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 14 February 2020

Our rating of effective went down. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • Two core services were rated as requires improvement and two core services were rated good at Royal Stoke Hospital for effective.
  • One core service was rated as requires improvement and one core service was rated as good at County Hospital for effective.
  • We do not currently rate outpatient services in the effective domain.
  • In rating effective, we took into account the current ratings of services not inspected this time.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 February 2020

Our rating of caring went down. We rated it as good because:

  • One core service at Royal Stoke Hospital was rated as outstanding.
  • All other core services at Royal Stoke were rated as good for caring.
  • All core services at County Hospital were rated as good for caring.
  • In rating caring, we took into account the current ratings of services not inspected this time.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 14 February 2020

Our rating of responsive stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • One core service was rated as requires improvement and four core services were rated as good at Royal Stoke Hospital for responsive.
  • All core services at County Hospital were rated as good for responsive.
  • In rating responsive, we took into account the current ratings of services not inspected this time.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 14 February 2020

Our rating of well-led went down. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • Two core services were rated as requires improvement and three core services were rated as good at Royal Stoke Hospital for well led.
  • Two core services were rated as requires improvement and one core service was rated as good at County Hospital for well led.
  • In rating well led, we took into account the current ratings of services not inspected this time.

Assessment of the use of resources

Use of resources summary

Requires improvement

Updated 14 February 2020

Combined rating

Combined rating summary

Requires improvement