You are here

Archived provider: Bedford Hospital NHS Trust Requires improvement

On 4 December 2018, we published a report on how well Bedford Hospital NHS Trust uses its resources. The rating from this report is:

  • Use of resources: Requires improvement  

Read more about use of resources ratings

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 4 December 2018

Our rating of the trust stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • We rated safe, effective and well- led as requires improvement and caring and responsive as good.
  • We rated two of the trust’s services as requires improvement and six as good overall, we took into account the current ratings of the three services not inspected this time.
  • We rated well-led for the trust overall as good.
  • During this inspection, we did not inspect medical care, critical care or acute end of life care services. The ratings we published following the previous inspections are part of the overall rating awarded to the trust this time.
Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 4 December 2018

Our rating of safe stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • Urgent and emergency care, surgery and maternity services were rated as requires improvement. Not all services had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training, not all staff had attended mandatory skills, not all staff complied with infection control practices and medicines management was not always managed safely.
  • Children and young people’s services and outpatients were rated as good.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 4 December 2018

Our rating of effective stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • Urgent and emergency care, was rated as requires improvement. There was variable performance in some national audits and not all services had action plans to drive improvements. Not all staff had an annual appraisal.
  • Surgery, maternity, and children and young people were rated as good.
  • We inspected but did not rate effective for outpatients.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 December 2018

Our rating of caring stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

  • All services were rated good for caring.
  • Staff cared for patients with compassion. Feedback from patients confirmed that staff treated them well and with kindness. Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their distress. Staff involved patients and those close to them in decisions about their care and treatment.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 December 2018

Our rating of responsive improved. We rated it as good because:

  • Urgent and emergency care, maternity, children and young people services, surgery and outpatients was all rated as good. The trust mostly planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of local people, services took account of some patients’ individual needs. The services treated concerns and complaints seriously, investigated them and learned lessons from them.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 December 2018

Our rating of well-led stayed the same. We rated it as requires improvement because:

  • Urgent and emergency care and maternity were rated as requires improvement. Due to operational pressures, managers and matrons were regularly required to work clinically, which meant they did not have adequate time to support staff and capacity to carry out all aspects of the leadership role. Not all risks had been identified on the risk register, and some identified risks had no actions to reduce the level, risks were not always updated regularly. Some staff reported a bullying and intimidation culture from the senior leadership team, whilst others reported they felt respected and valued by the team.
  • Children and young people services, surgery and outpatients was all rated as good.
Assessment of the use of resources

Use of resources summary

Requires improvement

Updated 4 December 2018

Combined rating

Combined rating summary

Requires improvement