You are here

Provider: Royal Surrey NHS Foundation Trust Good

On 20 August 2018, we published a report on how well Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust uses its resources. The ratings from this report are:

  • Use of resources: Good  

Read more about use of resources ratings

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 May 2018

We found there had been a number of improvements throughout the trust, which had accelerated in the past year. Performance was good. During our unannounced visit in January, we observed the trust benefiting from extensive preparations made for ‘winter pressures’ and they were responding well to the seasonal demand on services.

Overall, our rating for the trust stayed the same:

  • The trust was rated as good for safe, effective, caring, and responsive. Outpatients improved from requires improvement to good and maternity was rated as outstanding.
  • We did not inspect urgent and emergency care, surgery, services for children and young children or end of life care.

We are monitoring the progress of improvements to these services and will re-inspect them as required.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 May 2018

Our rating of safe stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

  • We found overall trust services had adequate numbers of staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and abuse, and to provide the right care and treatment. However, not all staff were trained to the appropriate level of safeguarding children.
  • Areas we visited were visibly clean; staff demonstrated good infection control practices and procedures. Management of medicines was in line with best practice guidance and legislation.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 May 2018

Our rating of caring stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

  • We saw staff treated patients with compassion, dignity and respect. Staff involved patients and their carers in decisions about their care and treatment. Staff considered all aspects of a patient’s wellbeing, including the emotional, psychological and social aspects.
  • The response rates to friends and family surveys were generally above the national average. Patients told us the care they received respected their wishes.
  • The feedback we received from patients and their loved ones showed they were satisfied with the services provided.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 May 2018

Our rating of caring stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

  • We saw staff treated patients with compassion, dignity and respect. Staff involved patients and their carers in decisions about their care and treatment. Staff considered all aspects of a patient’s wellbeing, including the emotional, psychological and social aspects.
  • The response rates to friends and family surveys were generally above the national average. Patients told us the care they received respected their wishes.
  • The feedback we received from patients and their loved ones showed they were satisfied with the services provided.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 25 May 2018

Our rating of responsive improved. We rated it as outstanding because:

  • The trust worked with commissioners and other external bodies to make sure it planned and delivered services according to the needs of local people.
  • Access and flow had improved in the emergency department, which increased patient movement through the hospital.
  • Staff throughout the organisation worked to ensure individual needs were met. Patients and carers with additional needs were supported.
  • The trust treated concerns and complaints seriously and investigated them. Where there were learned lessons or changed practices as a result, these were shared with all staff.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 May 2018

Our rating of well-led stayed the same. We rated it as good because:

  • The trust had a clear vision and strategy that all staff understood and they put this into practice by displaying and working in line with the trust’s values.
  • The trust had arrangements for continually improving the quality of care and promoting high standards. Managers monitored performance and used the results to help improve care. All staff identified risks to good care and the service took action to eliminate or minimise risks.
  • The trust involved staff, patients and the public in decisions on how services were run and improved.
Assessment of the use of resources

Use of resources summary

Good

Updated 25 May 2018