You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 16 August 2018

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 5 July 2018 to confirm that the provider had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection between 10 and 13 July 2017.

The July 2017 comprehensive inspection was carried out in partnership with Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Prisons (HMIP) under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions in accordance with our published methodology. CQC issued one Requirement Notice under Regulation 9 of the Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 to Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust (TEWV). This can be found in Appendix 2 of the joint inspection report. The joint inspection report can be found at:

https://www.justiceinspectorates.gov.uk/hmiprisons/wp.../Holme-House-Web-2017.pdf

This focused inspection report covers our findings in relation to those aspects detailed in the Requirement Notice dated 5 December 2017 and findings published in the joint report. We do not currently rate services provided in prisons.

Our key findings at this focused inspection were as follows:

• The trust had taken positive action to improve the delivery of mental health services.

• All referrals made to the mental health team were triaged on receipt and allocated to a mental health practitioner within 24 hours. Assessments now took place within a week.

• Care plans were now well developed and showed evidence of patients’ involvement in their planned care.

• Clear timescales for continuation of patient care were recorded in care plans; all had been reviewed to ensure follow up assessments; and future appointments were documented.

• Caseload management had improved significantly and was monitored and discussed by staff and managers at both individual and team meetings.

• Managers had made improvements to recording systems and patient information templates to ensure a consistent approach.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 16 August 2018

We did not inspect this key question during this focused follow up inspection.

Effective

Updated 16 August 2018

We did not inspect this key question during this focused follow up inspection.

Caring

Updated 16 August 2018

We did not inspect this key question during this focused follow up inspection.

Responsive

Updated 16 August 2018

We did not inspect the responsive key question in full at this inspection. We inspected only the area identified in the Requirement Notice, dated 5 December 2017 and findings in the joint inspection report published by Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Prisons on 5 December 2017.

We found that the areas of concern identified during the inspection in July 2017 had been addressed. Mental health care for patients was responsive and accessible. Improvements had been made to the timeliness of assessments, care planning and caseload management to ensure consistency and that patients’ needs were met.

Well-led

Updated 16 August 2018

We did not inspect this key question in full during this focused follow up inspection. However, we have reported on relevant service improvements that resulted in better patient care.

Other CQC inspections of services

Community & mental health inspection reports for Trust Headquarters can be found at Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust.