You are here

This service was previously managed by a different provider - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 April 2020

Our rating of services improved. We rated it them as good because:

We rated the outpatient services as good. We did not inspect any other services at the hospital on this occasion.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 April 2020

Effective

Good

Updated 9 April 2020

Caring

Good

Updated 9 April 2020

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 April 2020

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 April 2020

Checks on specific services

Medical care (including older people’s care)

Good

Updated 24 June 2016

Overall, we rated this service as good. However the safe domain remained as requires improvement. We did see some improvements from out last inspection. However, we found problems with medicine fridges and no action had been taken when temperatures were recorded out of range.

Documentation was to a good standard with risk assessments completed, however, patient’s notes were not always stored securely.

The trust had taken action to address concerns about nurse staffing levels by closing beds on ward F3 and moving Eccleshill Community Hospital to ward F5. However, we did not have assurances about staffing levels and found a number of occasions when the number of staff on duty was below the planned level.

However, we found systems were in place to report and learn from incidents, wards monitored safety and harm-free care, and safety thermometer information was now visible.

Improvements had been made with safeguarding training and mandatory training rates were now above the trust target of 95%.

At the previous inspection in October 2014, concerns were raised about the out of hours medical cover, and the management of the deteriorating patient. All staff had a good understanding of the arrangements for medical cover out of hours. The trust had also commissioned an external review of medical staffing at St Luke’s and had concluded the medical cover was adequate for the service.

Outpatients

Good

Updated 9 April 2020

Our rating of this service improved. We rated it as good because:

  • The service provided mandatory training in key skills to all staff and made sure most completed it.
  • Staff understood how to protect patients from abuse.
  • The service controlled infection risk well.
  • The service had enough competent staff and they worked together as a team.
  • Records were clear, up-to-date and stored securely.
  • The service used systems and processes to safely prescribe, administer, record and store medicines.
  • The service managed patient safety incidents well and monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment.
  • Staff treated patients with compassion and kindness.
  • Leaders had the skills and abilities to run the service.
  • Staff felt respected, supported and valued.

However, we also found:

  • Outpatient services were not available seven days a week.