You are here

This service was previously managed by a different provider - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 14 January 2014

Mile End Hospital is located within the London Borough of Tower Hamlets and provides a range of inpatient and outpatient services. These include mental health treatment, family planning, termination of pregnancy and rehabilitation services (illness and injury). Mile End Hospital is part of Barts Health NHS Trust.

CQC has inspected Mile End Hospital once since it became part of Barts Health on 1 April 2012. Our most recent inspection was in February 2013 when we visited the care of the elderly and rehabilitation service. We found that the trust was not meeting three of the 16 essential standards – under the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2010 and the CQC (Registration) Regulations 2009. We issued three compliance actions and asked the trust to provide us with an action plan as to how they would become compliant. As part of this inspection, we were assessing whether the trust had addressed the shortfalls, as well as taking a broader look at the quality of care and treatment in a number of departments to see if the hospital was safe, effective, caring, responsive to people’s needs and well-led.

Our inspection team included CQC inspectors and analysts, doctors, nurses and patient ‘experts by experience’. We spent one day visiting the Mile End Hospital. We spoke with patients and their relatives, carers and friends and staff. We observed care and inspected the hospital environment and equipment. Prior to the inspection we also spoke with local bodies, such as clinical commissioning groups, local councils and Healthwatch.

We found Mile End Hospital was providing services to older people that were safe and effective. Patients told us they felt safe and were treated with dignity and respect. There were sufficient staff with the appropriate skills to meet people’s needs. We saw people’s care needs were assessed and they received support to eat and drink. The wards were well-led and patient safety and quality monitoring and management were used to improve services to patients using the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 14 January 2014

We found that staff promoted a culture of safety. Patients were protected from the risk of infection and the hospital was clean. There were sufficient staff available to meet patients’ needs in a timely manner. There was a focus on patient safety and we saw staff assess, identify and take action to mitigate risks.

Effective

Updated 14 January 2014

Professional guidance had been followed in setting staffing levels on the wards and staff had the necessary skills and training to provide care to older patients. Safety and quality audits were carried out to demonstrate that the service was operating effectively.

Caring

Updated 14 January 2014

Patients and relatives all commented on the kindness of staff. We observed staff to be polite, caring and professional in their interactions with patients. They treated patients with respect and dignity.

Responsive

Updated 14 January 2014

Patients told us staff responded to their needs in a timely manner. There were support services in place to prepare patients for discharge and we saw there was a multidisciplinary team approach to ensure patients were discharged safely and effectively.

Well-led

Updated 14 January 2014

The care of the elderly and rehabilitation services were well-led. There was a focus on making sure patients received good quality, safe services.

Checks on specific services

Medical care (including older people’s care)

Updated 14 January 2014

We inspected medical care (including older people’s care) at Mile End Hospital. Patient care was safe and effective. Staff were caring and responded to patients’ needs. There were systems in place to monitor the safety and quality of the service. We found the service was well-led.

Other CQC inspections of services

Community & mental health inspection reports for Mile End Hospital can be found at Barts Health NHS Trust.