You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 March 2019

We had not previously rated this hospital. We rated services as good because.

  • We rated maternity services as good for safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led.
  • We rated neonatal services as good for safe, effective, responsive, well- led and outstanding for caring.
  • Staff cared for patients with compassion. Feedback from patients confirmed that staff treated them well and with kindness.
  • Services took account of patients’ individual needs.
  • Services controlled infection risk well. Staff kept themselves, equipment and the premises clean. They used control measures to prevent the spread of infection.
  • Staff received appropriate education and training to enable them to provide safe care and treatment.
  • The service planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of local people. People could access the service when they needed.
  • Staff gave patients enough food and drink to meet their needs and improve their health.
  • Managers across the services had the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable care.
  • Staff were committed to improving services by learning from when things went well and when they went wrong, promoting training, research and innovation.

However:

  • Not all mandatory training particularly for medical staff met trust targets.
  • Staffing was a challenge: although most shifts, over the period reviewed, met the national guidance from the British Association of Perinatal Medicine, there remained gaps in staffing on occasions.
Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 19 March 2019

Effective

Good

Updated 19 March 2019

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 19 March 2019

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 March 2019

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 March 2019

Checks on specific services

Neonatal services

Updated 19 March 2019

We have not previously inspected this service. We rated it as good because:

  • We rated the service as good in safe, effective, responsive and well led domains. We rated it as outstanding in caring.
  • Babies received high quality care from dedicated and caring staff who had received appropriate training and education to enable them to provide safe care and treatment. The service had nursing staff with additional training in a variety of quality roles such as research, tissue viability, feeding, infection prevention and control and safeguarding.
  • The unit was well maintained and decorated with appropriate equipment and facilities to care for patients and provide a caring, supportive environment for parents and families. Art work displayed throughout the unit provided stories of inspiration and hope for visitors and families.
  • Specialist staff supported mothers to improve breast feeding rates. There were facilities to help mothers express and store breast milk.
  • Feedback from parents and families was universally positive about the care their babies had received. We saw many examples of the care and support offered to parents and siblings. The bereavement team offered comprehensive, caring support to bereaved families including siblings. The service provided a comfortable, homely room for parents caring for babies at the end of their life.
  • The service had developed innovative new ways of delivering services such as retinopathy of prematurity screening. Retinopathy of prematurity screening and treatment was nurse led by a non-medical prescriber who also worked clinically on the unit. Screening was overseen by a consultant paediatric ophthalmologist. The service used technology to support mothers who could not visit the unit and minimise mother and baby separation.
  • Staff we spoke with were proud to work for the service. There was a positive open culture in which staff felt able to ask for help and report concerns. Staff were encouraged to develop themselves and services for patients and families.

Maternity

Good

Updated 19 March 2019

  • Staff received appropriate education and training to enable them to provide safe care and treatment for the women and babies being cared for at the unit. Simulation training was included as part of this training in both hospital and home birth scenarios.
  • There was good multi-disciplinary team working across all professionals to provide women with a choice of evidence based care which kept women and their babies at the focus of this care delivery.
  • Staff working within the service supported women to make decisions regarding their care and treatment and place of birth. The department based their guidelines on nationally available up to date evidence and best practice care which they provided to women and their families to enable them to make informed choices.
  • Staff that we spoke with during our inspection were proud to work at the service and were proud of the standards of care that they received. There was a supportive culture in which staff felt able to develop both themselves and the service provision for women.
  • The research department provided care for women with specific risk factors and had previously been cited as an example of excellent care provision in the National Maternity Review publication, Better Births: Improving outcomes of maternity services in England.