You are here

College Street Dental Centre

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 30 November 2017

We carried out a focused inspection of College Street Dental Centre on 14 November 2017.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who had access to telephone support from a dental clinical adviser.

We carried out this inspection focusing only on the safe key question to check on information we had received relating to this aspect of care at this practice.

We carried out the inspection to follow up concerns we originally identified during a comprehensive inspection at this practice on 2 September 2015 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it effective?
  • Is it caring?
  • Is it responsive to people’s needs?
  • Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area where improvement was required.

At the previous comprehensive inspection we found the registered provider was providing effective, caring, responsive and well led care in accordance with relevant regulations. We judged the practice was not providing safe care in accordance with regulation 12 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Castle Street Dental Centre on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to put right the shortfalls and deal with the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 2 September 2015.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 30 November 2017

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment.

Staff received training in safeguarding and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns.

Premises and equipment were clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments.

Effective

Updated 30 November 2017

Caring

Updated 30 November 2017

Responsive

Updated 30 November 2017

Well-led

Updated 30 November 2017