You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

This comprehensive inspection was carried out on the 28 February 2017. The inspection was unannounced.

Breck Lodge Care Home is a residential home that provides personal care for up to 15 people. The home is situated near the centre of Poulton-le-Fylde and is within easy reach of local shops and facilities. The home is a large detached property with a parking area at the side. There are garden areas at the rear of the home. Communal accommodation consists of three lounges and a dining room. Accommodation is provided in 15 single rooms all of which have en-suite facilities. A chairlift provides access to the first floor.

There was a manager in place who was registered with the Care Quality Commission. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We last inspected Breck Lodge Care Home in October 2016. We identified no breaches in the regulations we looked at.

During this inspection carried out in February 2017 we found the registered provider was working in line with the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Appropriate applications to deprive people of their liberty were made to the local authorities as required. We observed care and support being provided in a safe way. Documentation recorded the care and support people required to maintain their safety.

Documentation we viewed evidenced people were involved in the planning of their care and people we spoke with confirmed this. People told us they were supported to see health professionals if the need arose and we found this was recorded in care documentation.

We looked at the auditing systems in place to identify shortfalls at the home and drive improvement. We found that when accidents or incidents occurred, the registered manager reviewed these. We spoke with staff that were able to explain the steps taken to minimise the risk of reoccurrence. The registered manager carried out checks of medicines, care records and the environment to identify if improvements were required.

Staff were able to explain the actions to take if they were concerned someone was at risk of harm or abuse. People who lived at the home told us they felt safe. One person told us, “I’m not worried about my safety here.”

We found medicines were managed safely. We observed medicines being administered and saw this was carried out safely. Staff told us they received training to enable them to administer medicines correctly and we saw documentation which evidenced this.

We reviewed staff files and found there were processes that ensured staff were suitably recruited. Staff we spoke with confirmed checks had been carried out prior to starting work at the home.

Staff told us they met with the registered manager on an individual basis to discuss their performance. Staff with were complimentary of the training provided and told us further training was being arranged to ensure their skills remained up to date. Staff spoke positively of the registered manager and registered provider. We found staff meetings took place to enable information to be shared and guidance sought if this was required.

We discussed staffing with people who lived at the home. People told us they considered there were enough staff to support them. Relatives and staff we spoke with raised no concerns regarding the staffing provision at the home.

People who lived at Breck Lodge Care Home told us they considered staff were caring. One person told us, “Staff are kind. They go out of their way to help me.” We observed people being supported with kindness and compassion.

During the inspection we saw an organised activity being provided. We observed people joining in a musical activity. The activity was seen to be enjoyed by peopl

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The service was safe.

Medicines were managed appropriately.

Staff were suitably recruited, and staffing levels were sufficient to respond to peoples’ individual preferences.

Assessments of risk were carried out and care documentation contained information on how risks were managed.

Staff were aware of the policies and processes to raise safeguarding concerns if the need arose.

Effective

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

People were enabled to make choices in relation to their food and drink and were encouraged to eat foods that met their needs and preferences.

There was a training programme to ensure people were supported by suitably qualified staff.

Referrals were made to other health professionals to ensure care and treatment met people’s individual needs.

The management demonstrated their understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS).

Caring

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The service was caring.

Staff were patient when interacting with people who lived at the home and people’s wishes were respected.

Staff were able to describe the likes, dislikes and preferences of people who lived at the home.

People’s privacy and dignity were respected.

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The service was responsive.

People were involved in the development of their care plans and documentation reflected their needs and wishes.

People were able to participate in activities which were meaningful to them.

There was a complaints policy to enable people’s complaints to be addressed. Staff were aware of the complaints procedures in place.

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 April 2017

The service was well-led.

Quality assurance systems were in place to ensure areas of improvement were identified and actioned.

The registered manager consulted with people they supported and relatives for their input on how the service could continually improve.

People, relatives and staff told us the registered manager and registered provider were approachable and supportive.