You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We have not inspected this service yet

Inspection summaries and ratings from previous provider


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 29 November 2016

This unannounced inspection took place on 21 October 2016. At our last inspection on 16 December 2015, we found that the provider breached regulations because people’s personal care and support records were not up-to-date. We found that there were not enough staff at all times and this could put people at risk of not receiving care and support they needed. We also found the provider's policies, procedures and documents were not always maintained and readily available. Following this inspection, the provider sent us an action plan to tell us the improvements they were going to make.

Mr Chinonso Kalu - t/a Affinia Healthcare is a domiciliary care agency providing a service to people living in supported living accommodation in the London Borough of Havering. At the time of the inspection there were 26 people using the service.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have a legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

During this inspection, we saw that improvements such as increasing the staffing level and updating the care plans were made. People told us that they were safe within the service. We noted the service had enough staff who were appropriately recruited, trained and supervised. People told us they were happy with the way staff treated them. They told us staff were always available when they needed support with personal care or medicine administration.

Risk assessments and care plans were completed and reviewed for people. People, their relatives and staff were involved in the review of care plans and we noted that each person's care plan reflected their assessed needs and contained guidance for staff on how to support them. People took part in various activities, which they told us that they enjoyed.

There was a good management arrangement in place. Policies and procedures were updated and made available to staff and regular staff meetings took place. The registered manager sought people's views about the quality of the service and, where needed, made improvements. People were also confident that the registered manager would deal with their complaints.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 29 November 2016

The service was safe. Enough staff were deployed to provide care and support to people when needed. The service had a robust recruitment system in place to ensure that staff were suitable and fit to provide safe care.

Risk assessments were completed for people and staff had received training in adult safeguarding medicine administration.

Effective

Good

Updated 29 November 2016

Caring

Good

Updated 29 November 2016

Responsive

Good

Updated 29 November 2016

The service was responsive. Care plans were reviewed and detailed with information about their needs and how staff should respond to them.

People told us they had individual activities which they enjoyed. They told us they knew how to make a complaint if they were concerned about the service.

Well-led

Good

Updated 29 November 2016

The service was well-led. People and staff told us they were happy with the way the service was managed. They told us the registered manager listened and supported them

There were systems in place to monitor the quality of the service. The service had a clear management structure in place. We noted that people�s views about the quality of the service were sought.