You are here

NEAS, Short Term Residential Breaks Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 16 December 2017

This inspection took place on 25 October and 2 November 2017 and was announced. We gave the registered provider 48 hours’ notice that we would be visiting to inspect. We did this because the location is a small service for people who are often out during the day and we wanted to make sure the people who lived there would be in when we visited.

NEAS, Short Term Residential Breaks provides care and accommodation for a maximum of seven people at a time with autism and learning disabilities. People use the service for short term respite breaks and stay in two purpose built lodges in a rural setting. At the time of our inspection five people were using the service.

At the last inspection in September 2015 the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Risks to people using the service were identified and well managed to help keep people safe. Risks arising from the premises and equipment were monitored to ensure they were safe to use. Policies and procedures were in place to safeguard people from abuse. Medicines were managed safely. Staffing levels were based on the assessed level of support people needed and were regularly reviewed. The provider’s recruitment procedures reduced the risk of unsuitable staff being employed.

Staff were equipped to support and meet people's needs effectively through their induction and mandatory training. Staff received regular supervisions and appraisals. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this. People received the support they needed to ensure their diet was nutritious and well-balanced. People were supported to access healthcare services when needed. The lodges were suitable to meet the care needs of people using the service.

Relatives of people using the service gave very positive feedback on the support staff provided, describing them as kind and caring. Throughout our inspection we saw numerous examples of caring, warm but professional interactions between staff and people using the service. Staff treated people at the service with dignity and respect and encouraged them to be as independent as possible. Procedures were in place to arrange advocacy services where needed.

People received personalised support that was responsive to their needs. Some people received support in accessing activities as part of their stay at the service. Where this was the case details of the types of activities people enjoyed were included in their support plan. Policies and procedures were in place to deal with complaints.

Staff spoke positively about the culture and values of the service and described the service as well-led. The registered manager had created links other services and agencies to enhance the quality of people’s breaks.

The registered manager and provider carried out a number of quality assurance checks to monitor and improve standards at the service. Feedback was sought from people who used the service and their relatives. The registered manager had informed CQC of significant events in a timely way by submitting the required notifications. This meant we could check that appropriate action had been taken.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 December 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 December 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 December 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 December 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 16 December 2017

The service remains Good.